28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious bars. I make them in a square muffin pan using 1/2 cup applesauce for half the butter, dried apricots, raisins, walnuts and my favorite part frozen FRESH chopped cranberries. I double the recipe and it makes 24 bars. They are even better after freezing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorieht April 12, 2013

Really nice bar recipe. I thought they came out a little too sweet. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half. Loved the texture. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 27, 2012

These were really good. I thought they were a little on the sweet side even though I reduced the white sugar by half. The next time I may leave it out altogether.

I also accidently doubled the spices. It didn't hurt them at all. And since I was out of nutmeg, I used allspice instead. I replaced 1/4 cup of the cranberries with chopped walnuts but, in the future, I'll just add 1/2 cup of nuts along with the full amount of cranberries. I can also see using dried cherries and almonds. Or dried apples and pecans.

I used a metal pan (8x8) and the baking time was perfect. I lined the pan with parchment paper so I could lift them out before cutting. I plan on baking up a pan of these next week and mailing them off to my niece at college. They look like they'll travel real well. Thanks for posting your recipe, Sandyg61.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura2of7 October 02, 2011

Great recipe! Easy, tasty, made it yesterday and it's already almost gone. Didn't have any cranberries and used raisins instead. Furthermore I left out the nutmeg (not too fond of nutmeg) and added 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger. The baking time was right on spot, the bars are chewy and full of flavour. certainly a keeper.
Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo August 24, 2011

I would give this 10 stars due to the reaction of my family. They all said, Wow! I needed a bar recipe for a bake sale and ended up making 3 batches (doubled in a 9 x 13 pan) because they ate too many of the first batch. I tried one double recipe as is/ tried the next with 3/4 cup brown and 3/4 cup white sugar. Both were GREAT. Would say it's a matter of preference. The bake sale people didn't want nuts in anything, but I want to try this with nuts next time. This is a keeper. Thank you. PS - I kept the same baking time for the double recipe and it wass fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MimZ June 29, 2010

Very yummy - i used dried apricots and the result was very oaty, fruity and moist. I will certainly use this recipe again and next time will try dates .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew April 24, 2009

FABULOUS!!! The only thing I did differently was use 1 cup of dried fruit. 1/3c. raisins, 1/3 c a dried berry mix (tart cherries, blueberries and craisins) and 1/3 c. dried chopped apricots. My husband is in absolute heaven. He told me to make him a pan of these weekly...and it was NOT a request!!! These mix together very quickly too, which is another huge benefit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. April 19, 2009

A terrific base to use for experimenting. I halved the butter and added some yogurt or applesauce, used 1/2 whole wheat flour, and only 1 egg white. I've tried it with various dried fruit, frozen fruit, and choc chips (omitted the spices)--all with good results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie DeWitt April 17, 2009

Good basic recipe, easy to make! I made a few adjustments since we don't use sugar. I used a half a cup of raw honey instead of the sugars, whole wheat flour instead of white, added a 1/4 cup of ground flax seed meal and cut the butter in half and added a 1/4 cup of organic applesauce. They baked well, we live at 8500 ft elevation so baking can be a trial and error kinda thing but these turned out delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktruscott April 27, 2014

I just made these and I"m very happy with the results. Because my husband and I try to limit our sugar consumption, I cut the sugar in half. For us they are still sweet enough. I also added walnuts, and because I didn't have nutmeg in the house I increased the cinnamon a tad. Even at high altitude where I live (7,500 feet), the bars came out perfect, and at exactly 30 minutes. On busy days like today, this recipe is great. They're easy and quick to mix up. Thanks for posting. This will be one of my go-to recipes when I want a delicious treat in a hurry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cottage lover March 05, 2013
Cranberry Oatmeal Bar Cookies