16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy and tasty. I served slices with whipped topping, also liked the addition of nuts. Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore December 21, 2013

This was my first time cooking with raw cranberries, but it won't be my last! Because we're not big fans of really tart foods, I chopped up the cranberries in my food processor (after chopping and removing my walnuts) to more evenly distribute the cranberry flavor throughout the dessert. I also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of the white flour, sucanat (dehydrated cane juice) instead of white sugar, and added a light sprinkling of freshly ground cloves to the batter at the end (a great complement to the almond extract!). I baked it in a cake pan, and it was ready in about 30 minutes. Wonderful result! The perfect fall dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma November 14, 2009

This is a hit whenever I make it. The almond extract really makes it 'pop' compared to other desserts. Note, the batter is generally very stiff, especially when using frozen cranberries. This is normal and the dessert always turns out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tricia1972 March 19, 2009

Easy, crunchy, and cranberry-y. This is very sweet - I think 8-10 servings might be more accurate. Using a pie pan, I had a little trouble with the edges (the thinner part) getting done much sooner. A straight-sided pan would work better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady December 28, 2008

Was so easy and very good!!! All my family enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeep99_girl December 09, 2008

This is really good. It's sort of like a cake in a pie. The almond extract was really a good addition. I used a whole 12 oz bag of cranberries. I'd like to add a brown sugar and oat topping next time. I'd also like to try it with half the white sugar and half with brown sugar. I will be making this for Thanksgiving dinner. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ November 14, 2008

I do love to bake, BUT, there are days when I want it easy, easy and this is great especially living in cranberry country like we do, i.e. Nova Scotia. Did have to cut back on sugar a little because we do not like anything too sweet. Otherwise it is a great dessert served with ice cream or frozen yoghurt. Glad you submitted it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 August 02, 2008

Yum! It's not really a pie but it was tasty all the same. I used a full bag of cranberries (12 oz, I think) and pecans instead of walnuts. I'll definitely make this again because it's easy and tastes great. It's important to serve this warm and to serve it with ice cream or whipped cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessie MacMillan December 27, 2007

I made this at the last minute for the Thanksgiving dinner I was attending, in addition to a pumpkin pie and a pecan pie. It was a good thing I did, because no one else brought desserts! This was a good combination of sweet and tart, and it was a hit. I did leave out the nuts since I was also bringing a pecan pie, but they would probably have been a nice addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pixelated Vegetarian November 25, 2007
Cranberry Nut Dessert