8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my husband's favourite tagged recipe which I have made to date!!! He wanted to award 10 stars, so I explained the rating system to him!! I made this exactly as stated in the recipe, with one MINOR sub - tomato ketchup instead of tomato juice - I'd run out of juice! We had one hot meat loaf as a tester & then the rest of them we sliced & put in home-made bread with assorted salads & fruit chutneys/pickles etc for our supper. A wonderful recipe - I love all fruit, especially cranberries! Thanks Syd. FT:-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart February 21, 2007

Loved the cranberry sauce for these meatloaves, but was not overly thrilled with rice in the meatloaf. Will definitely make these again using my meatloaf recipe along with the cranberry sauce. Thanks for posting. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 01, 2010

Even though I totally screwed up, the taste of this meatloaf was great! I'll make it again, with a little more attention to the recipe! Thnx for posting, Syd. Made for Comfort Cafe Summer 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter July 05, 2009

These were just all right to me. I used a can tomato sauce instead of juice, added garlic, & no kitchen bouquet. I also added a cup of bread crumbs cuz others complained the loaves broke apart, which didn't happen to me. The flavors just didn't work well IMHO.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 February 11, 2009

The cranberry sauce really added a nice flavor that complemented this dish without overpowering it. I'll defnitely make this again. Another hit from Syd! Made for PRMR tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal September 24, 2008

5 Stars, what a delightful meatloaf, surprisingly it was not too sweet. This went together quickly. I had about 14 oz of whole cranberry sauce, but I think it was enough. My 5 mini loaves fit in a 9x11-3/4 glass casserole. It does taste balanced, and I didn't miss the ketchup treatment. Thanks for posting, Syd. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL September 07, 2008

This is a good meatloaf. I had to make a couple substitutions: I used homemade tomato sauce for the tomato juice and I didn't have any kitchen bouquet. My meatloaves didn't stay together very well but they tasted very good. Made for Wonders Tag 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 18, 2008

A real surprise of a dish! Those flavors really worked together and were such a refreshing change from the hum-drum ketchup topped meatloaf. The resulting gravy was also wonderful! Made just as written (including digging out that bottle of Kitchen Bouquet that rarely sees the light of day ;-)); convection bake time was ~ 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie February 27, 2007
Cranberry Meatloaves