32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WoW, These are so good, we really enjoyed the carrots. I served them with a green Salad, Baked Ham and AuGratin Potatoes. Also Peach Kuchen for Dessert, Yum Yum. Thanks Lennie for the great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 21, 2003

This is a different way to make carrots. I'm trying to get more veggies in our meals and I think this is a good one! I used baby carrots and dried herbs- I'm sure fresh would be way...better.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW January 19, 2003

I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a hit. I'll be making them again. I didn't change anything in the recipe. Thanks!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madi January 17, 2003

Oh Lennie!!!! WOW!! We made this as part of our New Year's Eve dinner- it was the hit of the night! I used baby carrots and real maple syrup from Quebec - yummy!! I didn't have any fresh ginger or rosemary on hand, so I had to use the dried rosemary and powdered ginger that I had in stock. Please try this - it is amazing!! Don't omit anything - evny with dried ingredients it was wonderful! I can't wait to make this again with the fresh herbs, I'm sure it will be better, if that's possible!! This was not only delicious but very easy to make - an added plus when you're putting on a huge meal. Thanks for posting Lennie!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert January 01, 2003

Wonderful vegetable side! I used thick sliced fresh carrots because I had lots on hand. I didn't have real maple syrup so I subbed with maple flavored pancake syrup. The aroma when you add the syrup, ginger and rosemary to the hot carrot mixture is simply divine! The glaze is so pretty and shiny immediately after cooking. I had to make this ahead of time to take to a family dinner and therefore I had to reheat it for serving. It still tasted great, but the glaze absorbed some and lost its shine. I recommend serving it immediately after glazing. Next time I will cook the carrots ahead of time but wait and add the glaze ingredients instead of doing it in advance. Thanks for a great recipe, Lennie. It made a wonderful addition to our Thanksgiving dinner.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna M. December 01, 2002

I wasn't sure about this dish because of the strong flavours but I made it for Thanksgiving this year and what a pleasant surprise. It was a huge hit! I cannot believe how great it all goes together. None of the ingredients are overpowering and the cranberries are just a subtle hint of tartness, combined with the maple syrup it's perfect. Definitly not your usual carrot dish but every single person loved it, even my fiance who isn't a fan of cooked carrots. I increased the butter a little and used ginger powder instead of fresh ginger and it still came out perfect. GREAT recipe for the holidays and it went perfect with Turkey. I actually liked it served cold as well the next day and I will definitly serve it again. It looks very appealing when done so it's a great dish for dinner parties too. Thanks for the recipe!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theresse December 01, 2002

I didn't know what to expect from this dish and initially my DH shyed away from it as he's not a lover of sweet foods. It seemed like a strange combination of flavours but they all work well together. I only used 1 tablespoon of maple and my DH thoroughly enjoyed it, and so did I.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandraMK October 12, 2002

This was great. I love carrots and am always looking for interesting ways to prepare. I love craisins and ginger and everything else in this recipe. I did make 2 substitutions. I used 2-15 oz cans sliced carrots, drained and rinsed, and I used 1/4 tsp dried rosemary, as that was what I had on hand, but I followed the recipe steps accordingly and was quite happy with the outcome. If it's this good with canned carrots, I'm looking forward to trying with some fresh ones.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deborah1 August 05, 2002

Loved every bit of it, Lennie! I used raisins instead of craisins, because that's all I had. I also used regular carrots and cut them into thick slices. I didn't really expect this to go well as a side for chappatis, but surprisingly it did, and I had a great dinner... thank you so much! :-)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu August 02, 2002

Made these with #50778(swiss steak) last night and they were good. A different way to cook carrots. I cut the recipe in half and only had the dried herbs but still came out good. I really liked them, kids and DH said they were OK, hence the 4 rating, but I'll be making them again - if it's on the table it gets eaten and I'm the boss about what goes on the table!!! :) Thanks Lennie for a good veggie dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trikster April 14, 2004
Cranberry Maple Carrots