20 Reviews

Hi, I'm new here,but have been reading for a long time. I have made this every Christmas and Easter for many years. It is always a big hit. No one will eat the ham any other way now.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancy wentzel December 24, 2002

This was great as a glaze. When I poured some of the remaining glaze over my ham slice it was pretty intensely sweet. My family loved it and I will make it again. But be careful. A little dab will do ya.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip December 17, 2011

This was just what I was looking for. Something a little different to top the ham this year for Easter. It got rave reviews from the eaters at my table, so this is now the one I will use for the holidays!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beep Beep Momma's Taxi April 27, 2011

I made this for the family Christmas Eve dinner, and it was a hit! I added about a 1/2t cayenne. I served extra on the side for anyone who wanted sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhi's Mama January 19, 2011

Awesome! Made exactly as written for out Christmas ham and it turned out amazing. This is the only way that I will make a ham again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1 tuff cookie January 08, 2011

YUM! I followed the recipe and added the 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper as another reviewer did. Hubby doesn't like cranberry sauce but he even loved it and so did my son. The cayenne pepper added just enough kick for those who like things a little spicy. It's great without it too though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Cox #2 April 04, 2010

This glaze is fantastic! From now on this will be the only one I use. The tartness of the cranberries works so well with the saltiness of the ham. I used this recipe 2 weeks ago and I'm going to use it again tomorrow night. Now if I could only figure out how to score a ham with even diamonds. UPDATE! I made this again and added 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne. The heat with the sweetness works so well together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 November 07, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! I served the extra in a gravy boat and used it as a sauce as well. Everyone loved it. And it was so easy to prepare. I made it on Easter, but it would be even more perfect at Christmastime since cranberry has become a Christmasy flavor. Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edesia May 01, 2009

This glaze made our Christmas ham the hit of the party. I used Splenda Brown Sugar blend with excellent results. The only problem I had was that even with a 12 pound ham, I only used about 1/4 cup of the glaze so there was a lot left over that I didn't quite know what to do with. I'm sure we'll be using this again for our Easter ham. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway December 30, 2008

I will certainly be using this glaze again. My husband is not a ham eater but I've always thought it tradition to cook ham for Xmas dinner and I decided to try this glaze because I know he likes cranberry sauce! AMAZING, it was so yummy I loved it so much! and the smell as it's cooking is wonderful. The only alterations I made was I didn't garnish with whole cranberries, I thought that would be to much, I also used a precooked ham so I put the glaze on at the same time I put the ham in to cook since the ham only took about 20-25 mnts. and I didn't use all of the sauce, I used my judgment as to how much I would want on there and it was plenty. My husband ate this right up! It was really VERY tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LDS Chef Ashlie December 30, 2008
Cranberry Glaze (For Ham)