16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is so fabulous it made a cranberry lover out of me! I absolutely love the flavour twist on the traditional ingredients! I cut the sugar in half and omitted the raisins. The walnuts are a must.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miheehee December 24, 2007

This was the best chutney I've ever had - and I don't even really care for it! I did add a teaspoon of orange zest and 1/2 of an orange (diced). YUM! Next Thanksgiving a double batch will do better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy #8 November 26, 2006

I've been making this recipe since last winter and realized I never posted my review, so here it is: Loved this! I prefer pecans, so I used them instead of the walnuts. I took it to an extended family party at Christmas and it was gone fast - people used it on sandwiches, with their turkey, we poured it over softened cream cheese and the kids scooped it up with crackers and celery, etc. It stores well, I even tried freezing it and it came out OK. I've made several batches of it; this is now our official recipe - no more cranberry sauce from a can! Thanks for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberli July 09, 2004

Turned out amazing. We made a few modifications that added a bit of holiday spice and rouded out the flavor<br/><br/>1 cup water<br/>1 cup sugar<br/>12 ounces cranberries, fresh (or frozen)<br/>1/4 cup apple cider vinegar<br/>lemon juice to taste (1/4 cup or less)<br/>1 cup craisins (dried cranberries)<br/>1/2 cup peeled diced apple<br/>1/4 teaspoon allspice<br/>1/4 teaspoon ground ginger<br/>1/2 teaspoon cinnamon<br/>3/8 teaspoon ground cloves<br/>1/4 cup peeled diced pear

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VickeyC November 27, 2014

I adapted this just a bit, but this is fabulous! I can't wait to taste it after it sits and all the flavors meld. I used apple cider vinegar, cut the sugar by 1/4, added orange sections and orange zest and made a double batch. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheshie November 21, 2010

This recipe is easy and delicious! Everyone loved it when I served it last Thanksgiving. I will definately be making it again this year. Thanks for posting it 1Steve!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobnTeegsMom November 17, 2009

Love this recipe and have made it for many years. So popular I now make a quadruple batch and then seperate in to jam jars to give as gifts during the season. When full jars are boiled, chutney will keep for 18 months! (I suggest you research jarring techniques on the net before starting) . I now substitute the water for orange juice and add chopped pieces and zest of 2 oranges (in a quadrupled recipe).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JScott December 08, 2008

fantabulous recipe... i used dried cranberries instead of fresh/frozen ones. it didn't really break down when i simmered it, so i pulsed it in my food processor to get it to the texture that i wanted it to be. but, i think that that was because of the dried cranberries. the taste is awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
airforce_chick315 January 26, 2008

This is great ,we have made t several times

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
obryant April 21, 2007

I've been making this for three years and I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue78 March 25, 2007
Cranberry Chutney