Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Chutney Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Chutney

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2009

      This was terrific and sooo easy to put together. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I used the canned cranberries and this was very tasty. DH and I can't wait to use the left overs on a sandwich. I used half the sugar posted here. We are cutting down on sugar and I don't like using too much sugar substitute so this was perfect for us. It was a bit too different for the kids who were visting and missed the tradional cranberry sauce... next year I may do both. Thanks for sharing this tasty treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Great recipe! I used walnuts, as they seem to better retain integrity of crunch over pecans. I like that the "base" which is simple store-bought - just add these special additions. Thanks for posting! Next, I'll try to can this recipe, and will report results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      Considering I used canned cranberries, this was delicious and very easy! I will definitely make this again, but I believe I will use fresh cranberries next time. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      Wonderful! The aroma alone is worth a ten! What a terrific addition to our Thanksgiving table this weekend. We will be serving this along side the cranberry sauce. We love turkey and what is turkey without cranberries! Can't wait to try it on those turkey sandwiches. Used whole cranberry sauce and found the slow simmer had it done in just a touch over an hour. Thank you for posting this great tasting Chutney.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Love it. Only used whole-berry sauce - didn't take that long to thicken. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      This was actually, to me, an extension of a the chutney, Garlicky Cranberry Chutney #80208 which I first heard mentioned on NPR by Susan Stamburg. I was a solid fan of that chutney but I am always up for new and this sounded very interesting. In my family, I had gotten a very solid following for the Garlicky Cranberry Chutney but all partakers agreed this was an improvement on an excellent cranberry side dish. Like Gay, I would like to hear more about how people start from scratch with cranberries since I love excuses to use the real thing. I just intuited that there wouldn't be enough sweetness to balance "real" cranberry. This cranberry chutney will liven up left over turkey sandwiches, too. I am not a huge fan of the bird, but I found myself eating turkey to have an excuse to eat the chutney.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Stella, this is to die for! Even my daughter, who is a very picky eater, loved it and my niece, who had Thanksgiving dinner with us, asked me to put some in a small container for her to take home. After eating this, I can never go back to plain old cranberry sauce. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      I too received a jar of this from a good friend - no fuss, no muss, great taste, so lucky me!! I'm especially happy with the low sugar quantity as my diabetic parents will be able to enjoy this with their Xmas turkey. Thanx Stella Mae & ER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      I was really anxious to try this because I am curious about Jafrey's recipes. This certainly has an interesting flavor that I like. My only problem was that I tried to adapt the recipe to use fresh cranberries and my chutney ended up too sour, so I had to do some last minute sugar adjustments. I love to hear someone's successful experience with fresh, because I would try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Stella Mae: I used fresh cranberries, fresh ginger, fresh garlic for this recipe; chopped everything on the "pulse" cycle of my Cuisinart... Easy, Peasy! Of course a very large quantity was made; then bottled and sold at our dragon boat Bake Sale... Why not? it was the day before Canadian Thanksgiving, and Stella, I have to tell you the jars of chutney just flew out of there.... I cannot recommend this chutney strongly enough. Who was it said Mahv'lous, simply Mahv'lous? They must have been talking about your chutney, Stella Mae. Five stars does not do it justice, but that is the Max, so that's all you get...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      A 5* chutney Stella Mae!!! A very good friend made your recipe and gave me a jar of the best cranberry chutney!!! I will definitely keep your recipe in my book of favourites! I served this at a dinner recently, all four diners rated this a 5 star ++ the combination of spices is perfect!! Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Chutney

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.7
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 33.3 g
    133%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh ginger

    orange rind

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites