16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Before I tried this over food, I just got a taste or two as I was canning it. It had a very strong raw onion taste that I really didn't care for. My initial thought was to saute the onion, apple and pear in a couple of tablesppons of butter or olive oil with a little garlic and rosemary, THEN add them when it says to the next time I make it. Cooking the onion will remove the harshness of it and make it sweeter, while the garlic and rosemary with add that savory note. However, after trying it yesterday heated up in the microwave and served with roast pheasant, the onion taste had gone away. It is SOOOOO good! So, I think either way it will be VERY tasty!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchengrrl October 27, 2003

I am spoiled now and cannot enjoy chicken or turkey without this chutney! If it is not the season for fresh cranberries you can substitute a can of whole cranberry sauce and use just one cup of sugar in place of the 2 1/2 cups and only 1/3 cup of water. Everyone who tries this at our house has to have the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweater August 25, 2008

Excellent recipe, but a bit too sweet for my taste. I cut the sugar by half a cup and it was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sitka Sound November 28, 2004

I made this three times over the holidays - with lamb, ham and beef - and it got rave reviews. Highly recommend this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny233 January 07, 2004

Delicious!! I wanted to try something a little different from the more traditional cranberry sauce and this did not disappoint me. Everyone loved it! I especially liked the hint of the spices together with the sweet/tart combination. And like Kitchengrrl above, I also was a little nervous about the raw onion taste, but it softened out over night. I followed the recepie except that I omitted the raisins and the walnuts. Good stuff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy's mom December 02, 2003

Oh man is this good! I tasted it tonight while it was still hot (night before Thanksgiving) and I can not wait until tomarrow!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugarsweet Barbe November 26, 2003

Great recipe, have made it several times, and friends now bring me cranberries and empty jars when they want some more. Thanks for a great chutney,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking with Gill March 23, 2010

I love cranberry chutney and this is a very nice one! Simple and delicious - thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. March 14, 2010

I love it! I used white onions and golden raisins. Recipe made exactly 7 half pint jars. Couldn't taste the onion at all (not sure if that's normal or not but I don't care!) I just ate a whole jar of this as a snack so I'm sure I'll be making more. Thanks Jellyqueen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma October 20, 2008

I loved this! It's like cranberry sauce with an attitude!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaJuneBug March 08, 2008
Cranberry Chutney