9 Reviews

I halved the recipe since it was just for DD & myself. I used half Splenda & half sugar to cut down on calories. Made for Zaar Stars Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh April 10, 2010

We loved this crisp! Especially the crispy chewy topping. I halved the margarine and decreased the flour by 2 tablespoons. The second time I made this I made it only with the cranberries and baked it 15 minutes, then broiled it 2 more minutes. We decided that this is the best crisp we've ever had! Great served warm with low fat vanilla (or eggnog) ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 05, 2010

This was a wonderful dessert -- I absolutely love cranberries and the mix of apples and cranberries was really nice. The only change I made was to reduce the amount of sugar; otherwise, I made as directed. Only one problem -- I forgot to buy ice cream to go along with it. : ) Actually, it was wonderful just as it is and I didn't miss the ice cream at all. : ) Made for PRMR, November, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration November 28, 2013

I chose this recipe to help use the last pkg of cranberries left from the holidays but now I'm wishing that I had more of them. This is terrific. The cranberry nip id there but as a marvelous touch and not at all overpowering. I used Splenda for the sugar and added a lit bit of cinnamon to both the fruit and the topping. Will certainly make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 16, 2012

This is OMG delicious and so very easy to prepare. The only thing I did differently is to use unsalted butter in place of the margarine. I served this with low-fat ice cream. Thanks, loof! Made for Best of 2010 Tag Game as recommended by Maito.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 13, 2011

warm, comofrting, tasty and simple.. what's not to love?!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerlyJ October 20, 2009

Sometimes multitasking is not such a good idea - I forgot the brown sugar in the crumble, but this still turned out great. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and would reduce it more, and subbed walnuts for the pecans, but otherwise followed the recipe. it's great comfort food and not fussy to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte June 13, 2009

Since I'm getting low on my frozen cranberries, I cut this recipe in half (& did toast the pecans) & now can't wait for autumn when I can stock up on the berries again AND MAKE THIS GREAT CASSEROLE FOR COMPANY! Definitely a keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Newest Zaar Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 30, 2008

loof, this is a definite keeper! I cut the ingredients in half, used Splenda sugars and old-fashioned oats. Served warm with ice cream, it was luscious! Thanks so much for sharing this one..we'll enjoy this many times! MERP'd for Newest Zaar tag '08.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick June 29, 2008
Cranberry Casserole