59 Reviews

Wonderful Cranberry Bread - an absolute keeper. I looked at the reviews and used everyone's ideas: used pecans and covered with a simple orange glaze made with one cup icing sugar + 1 tbsp orange juice. I always cut oil by half and add applesauce instead - yummy and moist and less fattening. This has a nice light taste and the right balance between tart and sweet - even better the 2nd day. I'm glad it makes 2 loaves since we are just about done the first one in one day! Wonderful - will be part of my permanent collection.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker Barb November 01, 2009

Found it to be a little dry...will sub applesauce for the oil next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaurorac May 02, 2011

Awesome! The best cranberry bread I have ever had but I did make a few changes to it. I omitted the lemon zest and the nuts (don't like either) and used two teaspoons of almond extract instead of vanilla. The almond extract made it absolutely amazing. I did chop the cranberries quite fine in the food processor after reading other reviews and the loaves are not tart at all.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
914939 January 21, 2011

Excellent bread. I followed recipe exactly, using orange zest vs lemon. A very nice balance between sweet and tart. I will make again, though next time I will use my food processor to rough chop the cranberries, as I think it took me 10 minutes to do that alone. Thanks for posting, will make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 December 22, 2009

Delicious. I used the two loaf recipe in a bundt pan instead and just increased the baking time. Also, I topped it with a simple glaze using powdered sugar, a bit of orange extract and milk. My mom took some to her work and my husband took some to his and I got a lot of compliments and a few requests for the recipe. Easily five stars for taste and ease to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ericaj April 10, 2011

This recipe was great, although I did increase the sugar to 2 cups and added orange zest or orange oil, depending what I had on had, then just tasted the batter to be sure. I made this into 5 mini loaves and baked many batches for Christmas and gave as gifts. I just sprinkled the top with powdered sugar. Warm or cooled, this recipe is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillc7 March 01, 2011

I tried this recipe, came out so good, after reading other reviews, i made couple of changes in the oiginal recipe, I chopped the cranberries in the food processor, added little etra sugar and added chopped dates instead of nuts, it was devine....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reeta_desai_12396700 December 10, 2010

This recipe was easy and tastes great. We used the leftover cranberries from making homemade jellied cranberry sauce and it worked perfect in this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomswife05 November 11, 2010

This was yummy. I added orange zest to mine and added the juice of the orange as well. I love cinnamon so had to add a teaspoon of that too. One thing I didnt do was chop the cranberries enough and had some big chunks. Overall I really liked this recipe.Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheebies March 30, 2010

Everything a cranberry bread should be-just the right amount of tartness. Moist & delicious from the oven and toasting the remaining slices made it even better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Va. March 13, 2010
Cranberry Bread