49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i used vanilla extract instead of orange. Since I used two tbsp of orange zest, so it still had the orange taste to it. this dessert is very sweet, rich and yummy. i'm anal and compared a lot of different recipes and am glad I chose this one. Everyone liked them.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salmeyda January 07, 2010

These are so good and perfect for Christmas time, much better than the ones at Starbucks. I used 1 teaspoon each of orange zest and vanilla in the batter, and used a 1/2 teaspoon each of orange zest and vanilla in the frosting. The amount of sugar in the frosting seemed like to much so I used just half of the amount and they were perfectly sweet. Just make sure that when your melting the white chocolate, do it in 15 second intervals stirring after each one or it will burn. Thanks for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cupcake-Princess December 14, 2011

Fabulous copycat! People may criticize the richness/sweetness, but it's no sweeter than the Starbuck's version. If you want a replica - this is it. If you want a low sugar dessert, you wouldn't be buying this at Starbucks anyhow.

I have had a craving for these for years, but after discovering my allergy to gluten, figured it was another thing I couldn't have. I weighed 1 c. all purpose flour and measured 135 grams. This is what I used to substitute my GF flours. I used brown rice flour (90 g), sweet rice flour(65g), tapioca flour (65g) & potato starch (50g)

Other than that change for my needs, I made one more. I added 1/2 tsp salt to the batter. I brought them to a party where there were a lot of gluten free eaters, as well as not. They were a hit with everyone. I do agree that using the orange extract yields better results.

I used an 11x17 baking sheet, sprayed it well with cooking spray and spread it out. I cut them into 2-3 bite triangles and it's just right.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dtwalter_8824544 April 06, 2011

These are so good! Taste just like Starbucks! I made them twice and I think they taste the best if you let them chill in the fridge for a few hours to overnight. I chopped the chips and berries that go in the dough the first time and the second time I left them whole and liked that texture better. I left off the orange zest the second time and it tasted just as good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busygirl28 December 16, 2010

Oh, these are sooo good! I've never had the Starbucks bars, so can't compare. These were a bit time-intensive, but so worth the impressive results. After cutting into triangles, I swirled pink-tinted icing over the tops for a lovely Valentine effect. The orange, ginger and cranberry flavors meld so wonderfully! Thanks for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick February 07, 2010

Excellent recipe! They taste just like the ones at Starbucks! Good call on using parchment paper. It makes it easier to cut the bars and easy clean up. I recommend this recipe to everyone!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glendaculbertson December 04, 2011

This is a GREAT recipe but for my family, it was way too sweet.

BARS
I cut the brown sugar from 1 cup --> to 3/4 cup
and 3/4 cup of white chocolate chips --> to 1/3 cup

FROSTING
I cut the 3 cups of confectioners sugar --> 1 cup

They tasted so much better with less sugar. I also don't plan on getting/giving diabetes anytime soon.

As for the texture, be careful as it will be dry if you don't cut the baking time in half! I baked mine at 350 for exactly 15 minutes and they turned out wonderful. Just as dense [although not as squishy] as the Starbucks version. If you want a clear sign, look for the brown at the edges, NOT the whole pan. I made this mistake the first time and they turned out a bit dry. I also creamed the butter instead of melting like one reviewer recommended.

Finally, do NOT skip out on the orange extract for the vanilla. Yes the vanilla is more common, but the orange, ginger, and cranberry flavor is what makes these bars so delish.

Overall this recipe is a 4.5, but since I had to make a few adjustments, I gave it a 4. Try it for yourself though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkroses92 December 30, 2010

Exactly like Starbucks! They turned out beautifully, and tasted absolutely fabulous -- and so much cheaper to make than buying a tray of them at Starbucks. Everyone who tasted them asked for the recipe. My sister-in-law wants me to bring some to Christmas dinner. --Quite a compliment, since she's the best baker I know.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jollystamper December 11, 2010

These are seriously yum! I haven't had the bars from Starbucks in many months so it's hard to say if they are exactly the same but they are wonderful for sure!! I made them just as written but used a full size cookie sheet and only cooked them for about 16 min. I will make these again and again! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender June 16, 2010

I made these 4 times in December. They are wonderful. I will be making them again for Valentines Day! Can't wait to share them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 boys mom February 08, 2010
Cranberry Bliss Bars (Starbucks Copycat)