80 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these today and they were so good. My husband loved them....Tomorrow I'm making more for his office. By the way, to prepare the pan - do you grease and flour - I did and it worked fine. Also, baked in little larger pan and turned out fine. Wanda from Texas

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wanda Fornal October 30, 2001

It was fun to hear the cranberries pop in the oven. The cranberries were very refreshing to bit into. I found that the dough did not pour as the recipe stated. The consistency was like cookie dough, so I buttered my knife and spread it into my pan. Everyone liked these. Thank You.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J February 25, 2002

My friends and family all loved these bars. This is a very easy recipe!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lea Deesing December 14, 2001

Wow! This was not only delicious, but easy and quick! I used fresh cranberries. DH took a plate of these to the Christmas decorating event at church and came home to report that I'd screwed up...I asked what he meant by this and he told me... "You didn't send a copy of the recipe." It turned out that everyone, literally everyone wanted the recipe. The next day several of the ladies at church came up and asked me for the recipe. Now I'll have to get printing... :-) Thanks for sharing such a hit Bonnie!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn December 19, 2002

This is a very tasty bar. It's light and fast to make. My family really enjoyed this. I will make this a must for my recipe file. Happyclip

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happyclip1 December 03, 2001

I made these over the holidays for breakfast when my in-laws were in town. They kept for a long time and were fantastic, chewy and just the right amount of flakiness! Amazing!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock January 21, 2002

sounds all so good!! and veary easy. been Looking for a easy Recipe. Like this for a Long Time. Ginny Ross.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ross January 19, 2002

Yum! Awesome bars and very quick to fix. Used cranberries from my freezer and omitted the nuts. Not cakey, these bars are the perfect blondie (texture like a brownie) with burts of red tart cranberry. Half a cup of mini chocolate chips would be an interesting addition. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 25, 2011

Wow these are SO good--and the house smelled so nice as they baked that my daughter asked what is that wonderful smell! I did make a few adjustments: cut the butter to 1/4 c. and added 1/4 c. vanilla yogurt. I used 1 c. brown sugar instead of 1 1/2 c. white. Oh, and I used 1 c. white flour, 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and added about 1/2 t. salt. The batter was thick and hard to spread, but I managed it. Since my kids don't like nuts, I didn't put any in the batter, but sprinkled sugared pecans on half the batter once I put it in the pan. The nuts got good and crunchy in the oven and added a nice contrast to the soft, sweet/tart cranberry bars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annz Recipez December 29, 2009

Great tasting bars! Made these over the holidays and we loved them. Not only do they taste good but they look fantastic plated. With 70 reviews there is not much I can say that hasn't already been said .... except to say WINNER! Thank you Bonnie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry March 03, 2011
Cranberry Bars