7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to say I decided to make this just from the photo alone, and Mmm Mmm Mmm did it ever turn out WONDERFUL! I will keep this in my Favorites file for sure.:o) Well--I don't know how many of you are out there...when I found this website it looked as if the last "reviews" were over a year ago mostly...I hope people still come here and rate, and share, cause I'm having a ball with this. It's fun to not only make a recipe but to have so many of you rate the things I want to make.. Feels like a little cooking family !! Well...more baking and cooking to do!! :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gigi-Lee May 03, 2010

This recipe was wonderful! I couldn't resist cutting into it about 10 minutes after it was out of the oven. I'd like to see it have just a little more orange flavor, though. Maybe some zest next time, to give it just a little more oomph! Edited to add... my apologies! After coming back here again I realized I left my comment on the wrong recipe! Seeing others mention "vinegar" made me wonder WTH??? I used a different recipe than this one! Sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammy Hershberger September 09, 2009

delicious!! I used splenda instead of sugar and only 2 cups. two more bananas just because they were too ripe. Loved the texture and flavor. Have used vinegar in blueberry muffin recipe don't know what it does but will continue to use in recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol lazzara August 01, 2009

We loved this bread. I had some left over cranberries and over ripe bananas that I needed to use up. I found this recipe in the Best of the Best From California cookbook and it gives credit to Durham's Favorite Recipes. I came to add it to Zaar and this is practically the same recipe- just a couple of changes slightly less sugar, less mashed banana, and a couple of teaspoons of orange zest. I would definitely make this again. The orange and cranberries make a regular banana bread into something special.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog February 01, 2009

Very good. Liked the tartness of the cranberries with the sweetness of the orange and banana. Not sure what the vinegar does, though. I used Splenda, so had to adjust baking time accordingly. Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey December 09, 2006

I can hardly wait to make this...sounds interesting - and good. Wanda in Texas

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wanda Fornal November 05, 2001

I would love to try this recipe, am wondering why several of you have made this and not put down a time with which you baked this loaf? The author has stated that she doesn't remember how long she baked it some time ago. Maybe I will try this and notate a time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER December 19, 2012
Cranberry Banana Nut Bread