Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2002

      This is SO easy to make and tastes great. I took it to work and it was devoured in no time at all. I might add a few more nuts next time because I really like the different textures. I used frozen cranberries - whole. They just kind of POP in your mouth that way. All in all, a great recipe. Can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2002

      This could be the best friend my cup of coffee ever had! It was really easy, and left very little mess. I love that it is moist, yet firm, with wonderful, crunchy surprises in every bite!! A definate keeper!! Marianna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I usually use a different recipe but tried this one out for something different this time. I'm sorry this gets a 2. It looks great but there's 2 problems I had with this recipe. 1 cup of mashed banana isn't enough. I couldn't even see the banana veins in the loaf (it looked more like pound cake...and it tasted more like pound cake). Second problem I had was figuring out how much butter to use. 1/4 vs 1/2 cup is a big difference. Why does the recipe list that like that?

      If you are using this recipe, my advice would be to double the banana to 2 cups of mashed banana and 5 Tbsp of butter. You may need to add in another 1-3 tbsp of flour too depending on how your batter looks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Delicious! I made it twice in one week, one for the family and one for a party. It was a hit on both counts. I cut back on the sugar the second time around, and want to try making it sugar free and possibly with whole wheat or a gluten free flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      This is a great banana bread recipe. Very moist. I did a couple of things differently: I used vegetable oil instead of butter, and left out the walnuts because I'm allergic. I also added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to the batter for a little flavor. The sweetness of the bananas contrasts nicely with the tart cranberries. My family ate half the loaf in one afternoon! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Very tasty & moist - I cooked the full time and the top was quite browned, but it was perfect. I used a little extra nuts and cranberries to use up what I had; I used dry milk mix b/c I had just run out of regular - tempted to try with half & half to make it even richer. Very filling! UPDATE: I have used in different batches walnuts, pecans, and almonds & all are good - I can imagine this would also be very tasty with macadamia nuts; I have used dry milk mix, skim milk, and half & half & all are good; use the full amount (or more) of the bananas in order to get moister result; if you use smaller pans, check 20 minutes early b/c it will likely be finished somewhere between 50-60 mins (instead of the called-for 70 mins) & I would imagine much less time for muffin pan though I haven't yet tried it; this dough is not like regular bread dough in that it appears chunky and lumpy and is very moist (and this is normal for a "quick bread" that does not get kneaded, does not rise, etc.).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I doubled this recipe and it made more than 2 loaf pans. Salt seems to be missing. There is something a little flat and excessively sweet about the taste. I really think salt would help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Loved it! Decided to branch out from the banana bread recipe I've used for years and try this. I subbed half Splenda brown sugar blend (loose, not packed) and half white sugar, half whole wheat and half white flour. Used more than 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, and 2 cups frozen cranberries, which I chopped VERY coarsely (basically cut in half). I used 1/3 cup Smart Balance (butter/marg. combo). Also added about 1 tsp. cinnamon to the dry ingredients. The result was grand... not too sweet, not too tart. Really tasty. I'll be making this one again and again. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I usually make cranberry orange bread but this was a wonderful way to use up some of those bananas in my freezer. My husband missed the glaze so I went ahead and topped it with a simple glaze of powdered sugar and orange juice. Thanks for the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      AWESOME!! I double the recipe & made a loaf to share with friends. Everyone LOVED it! Very delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      I do not like banana bread or cranberry bread much but had to use up some bananas and came across this recipe and it was fantastic. I did add some orange zest, cinnamon and nutmeg. Used a combo of brown sugar and Splenda and half whole wheat flour. Delicious and very pretty too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Although I found the crust to be a bit too crunchy, the inside was moist and delicious! I made the usual changes - applesauce for butter & whole wheat flour for white. I also added a bit of dried orange peel to add to the flavor. I was worried because the batter completely fills up the loaf pan, but the bread rose nicely and cooked evenly throughout.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      This is my new favorite recipe for overripe bananas. I made several substitutions (whole wheat flour, half a cup each of splenda regular blend and brown sugar blend and oil instead of butter). I also used three kinds of nuts. Fantastic!!! I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      Outstanding! Moist, flavorful - just an excellent recipe! I used half whole-wheat flour & half regular, and subbed half the white sugar for brown sugar. Used frozen cranberries that I very coarsely diced. I used 2 large bananas, which gave me about 1 1/4 cups, so a little more than called for. Baked beautifully in 1 hour, 13 minutes for me. The contrast of the cranberries with the banana is just delicious! Thanks so much, Derf!!! I'll make this again & again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I would never have thought of using bananas and cranberries in the same loaf. Having said that I have to say it was a good combination. And it came out nice and moist. I used fresh cranberries for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Amazing! Moist and delicious. I was skeptical of using unsweetened cranberries. I substituted flax seed for the eggs Still wonderful! Thanks for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      This is absolutely wonderful. Easy and delicious. I read the reviews which I find helpful when trying a new recipe. Thank you it's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Really good bread - I had a lot of overripe bananas sitting on the counter, so I made a double batch with 3/4 cup butter, used almonds instead of walnuts (since I was out!) and added in about 1 cup of white chocolate chips. I also added 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp baking soda - I just felt like it would need it as a double batch. It's sitting on the counter waiting to cool, but the bite I had (that had stuck to the bottom of the pan) was GREAT! - Update - I have now made this a 2nd time without the white chocolate chips and the loaves came out of the pans perfectly! I will definitely keep this one in the "banana recipe" file to make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This is an old family favorite of mine. My mom's recipe called for cooking the cranberries but this takes one step out and makes it easier. I love this bread, I make it every year, now using this recipe. May have to try a few of these tips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I live at a high altitude so I keep messing with the recipe because it turns out to be less moist than I like it. I haven't found a solution quite yet but this is still absolutely delicious. Even if I never quite figure it out I will keep making this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1035 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2862.7
     
    Calories from Fat 891
    31%
    Total Fat 99.0 g
    152%
    Saturated Fat 37.8 g
    189%
    Cholesterol 502.5 mg
    167%
    Sodium 1315.9 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 457.1 g
    152%
    Dietary Fiber 21.4 g
    85%
    Sugars 226.6 g
    906%
    Protein 52.0 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes