9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A buttercup squash, which has a sweet creamy orange flesh that tastes similar to a sweet potato, was the perfect vessel for this flavorful stuffing. I recommend using one of the naturally sweeter varieties of apples like a Gala because a sour Granny Smith apple would be too tart paired with the cranberries. I omitted the pecans and added one teaspoon of fresh orange zest which enhanced the flavor of the frozen cranberries. Instead of cooking the filling in a saucepan, I stuffed the raw squash with the uncooked cranberry-apple mixture and baked at 350F degrees for one and a half hours since I was not in a rush. The longer cooking time really allowed the squash to absorbed the delicious flavors of the filling. Since a buttercup squash has a very small inner cavity, there was excess filling. I baked the excess filling with a little water in a small Corningware dish with a lid. After the squash was done baking, its filling settled into the cavity making room to add the rest of the separately baked excess filling. The tartness and sweetness of Cranberry Apple Stuffed Squash was the perfect side dish for my roast lamb. Thank you, Brooke the Cooke in WI, for a combining my favorite flavors of fall into a side dish that is tasty enough to be star of the show!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garden Gate Kate November 10, 2013

Delicious! I added a little fresh ginger as well to give it a bit of spiciness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizzabeast October 22, 2009

Really enjoyed this I used a butternut & after cutting it gave it rub with a bit of "i can't believe it not butter" and also rubbed a bit of garlic, chili and brown sugar into them -than took advice from JanuaryBride and used fresh squeezed OJ in the bottom of the pan...i added dried cranberry as well as the frozen and did the rest of the stuffing as stated ...served them with herbed & nutty couscous w/ spicy sauce on the side (oh- i also "cut them in half"... length wise to make eating easier)...(you could even eat the skin...:) ) really nice, great flavor and pretty presentation too->Thanks Brooke!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free February 12, 2009

Made this tonight and shared with my roomie -- my fiance doesn't like squash, so our roomie reaped the benefits and had extra! We both loved the filling, and agreed that it tastes a *lot* like my cranberry-apple pie. ;) I used whole frozen cranberries, and like Sydney Mike, used an acorn squash because that's what I had available. Perfectly simple and tasty, this has all the best flavors of autumn rolled into one dish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen December 31, 2008

Made this with an Acorn Squash (couldn't find the Autumn Cup variety!) & used fresh cranberries! Loved the use here of the toasted nuts! VERY, VERY FLAVORFUL & something I intend to add to my Thanksgiving table (We're going vegetarian this year since my son & DIL are just that!) Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 11, 2008

Very nice recipe. Love the slight tartness from the cranberries (I cut mine in half) and the crunch of the pecans. I used an acorn squash. Next time I will put orange juice in the baking pan instead of the water. I cut my half in half (if that makes sense) and then squirted some simple syrup over the slices. . .so tasty! Made for VEG*N tag #4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 05, 2008

Soooo flavorful! Made it with a Autumn Cup Squash I got from a friend's farm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
albuchel80 November 02, 2008

I made this using butternut squash (which we generally call butternut pumpkin) and I used dried cranberries. VERY clear instructions, VERY easy to prepare - and, most importantly, really delicious. We loved the blend of flavours, in particular the cinnamon and pecans were just SO delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Brooke!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 25, 2008

This got first a "mmmm" then a "this is really good" from hubby, so that's more than five stars in my book. It's super easy to make and filled up the house with a wonderful smell. We have tons of squash and apples from our csa box to use up, so this turned out to be the perfect fall meal. I served it as a main course with steamed broccoli and carrots. The only change I made was to use dried cranberries. Made for the Oct 08 veggie swap. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker October 23, 2008
Cranberry Apple Stuffed Squash