9 Reviews

This was excellent! Made the whole house smell so good. I would definately make this again. In fact this is my second time. Sorry to say I forgot to post a review the first time. Wouldn't change a thing. I will say the last time I used some dried cranberries I had in the cupboard and it turned out great. Thanks for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa Fadley December 15, 2007

I think it's about time I gave this recipe a review. I've been using this for about two years now. I make it for just about any occasion (or sometimes for no reason at all) between October and January, and it has never failed to delight anyone who has tasted it. As suggested, I add a little lemon juice to the fruit mixture, and that just takes it over the top. When it comes out of the oven, I let it sit for 20 minutes or so (at home I have to guard it) for the filling to set up. On it's own it's fantastic; with a little vanilla ice cream on top, it's transcendent!

Couldn't give it less than 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dave the Computer Guy December 30, 2010

DELISH! I cut the recipe in half, except for the topping, and cooked it in an 8x8 pan. Also, I used Brown Sugar Splenda and whole wheat flour in the topping...just to feel less guilty about eating it all. It was so good! I would add Pecans to the topping next time. We ate it with Pumpkin Ice Cream. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Mo November 25, 2008

I loved this recipe! A really, really nice change from your average apple crisp. I didn't double the topping recipe and it was perfect for our family. The only thing I did different was sprinkle fresh lemon juice over the apples. I think it brings out the flavor of the apples. If your looking for a great recipe for the holidays...this is it!!!It has a very festive presentation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely November 18, 2005

Surprised no one mentioned it but a 9"x13" pan is way too small. Especially if you double the recipe for the topping as some of you have suggested. It is most disconcerting when, in the middle of a recipe, you have to make changes. Please people, do not post recipes unless you are absolutely sure you have covered all the bases. You have an unsuspecting audience out there, be kind.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eichberg.g November 08, 2009

I really enjoyed this Carol, with a big dollop of vanilla ice cream! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 08, 2008

I have looked for years for the right crisp topping and filling and with this recipe, I've finally found it. I didn't change a thing. It was delicious, perfect, texture, sweetness and the topping was the best. My husband really liked it too. He says, "You make this all the time, I'll eat it"!! And he's not a sweet eater! Thank you so much. Diane in Salem

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane in Boise ID November 14, 2006

Very good! My 3 year old son didn't care for it, but I was happy to eat his portion. I did add a sprinkle of lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun July 19, 2006

Really great crisp recipe! The flour folded in with the filling keeps the juices from running on the bottom of the dish. I also doubled the topping, and it was sooo gooood with ice cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare January 14, 2006
Cranberry-Apple Crisp