12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I like this recipe but the cranberries got hard after baking. I guess i should have soaked them in some kind of liquer before putting them in the batter...thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 298200 December 11, 2014

Fantastic!!! These were so easy to make and are so, so, so tasty! Like another reviewer, I increased the almond extract by a teaspoon. Used craisins that I soaked in orange juice for about two hours beforehand, then drained and squeezed all the liquid out. And, because the dough was a bit wet, I added two tablespoons of polenta, which stiffened up the dough a bit and gave the finished biscotti a nice little crunch and texture. I was a bit worried about how soft the dough was, but all turned out ok. Just make sure not to put the two logs on too small a cookie sheet - because they do spread quite a bit. Can't eat nuts, so left them out and didn't miss them at all! And no chocolate drizzle because I have to draw the line somewhere - LOL! Note: I think the wetness of the dough is due to the amount of water in the butter here in Costa Rica, not fault of the recipe. Thanks for posting, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori April 09, 2013

Love this recipe! I used craisins and chopped them up in my food processor a bit before adding them to the batter. I also used a Silpat instead of parchment paper which worked very well. Now to experiment with the recipe a bit to make it lower in fat and sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toyotachica June 24, 2012

Very good and easy recipe. This is my first time trying to bake biscotti and I like the results. I've never eaten biscotti so I don't have anything to compare the results to but they're tasty.

I did have one question: when I mixed everything together the batter was dry, crumbly dry, and it didn't expand at all in the oven. I only was able to get 17, 1/2 inch pieces out of my two loaves.

Any suggestions out there? Will be trying this again very soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
21sgood December 11, 2011

Wonderful! I used the extra 1/2 cup of sugar and sprinkled raw sugar over the egg white before baking. My BF kept saying they were "so-so", but I noticed that he ate almost the entire batch! And this with several other cookies and candies around! I made another batch to give as gifts and they went over very, very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanciY December 10, 2010

Very tasty! I used macadamia nuts instead of almonds, very good biscotti

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baked Therapy November 21, 2010

I was about to post the identical recipe, which I've made for years. So instead, I'll just give this recipe the 5-star rating it deserves. Make them just as directed with a couple hints- 1 1/2 cups dried cranberries equals a 6 ounce package, and I only use about 1/2 cup white chocolate chips for the drizzle. I also enjoy using dried cherries as an alternative to cranberries, as suggested, but I chop them and soak them first in 2 T. amaretto - yumm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva December 13, 2009

This is the best biscotti recipe I have ever made! I've had people tell me that they would pay for this in a coffee house. This recipe is easy, and looks great! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GullyFoyle777 November 27, 2009

This recipe is delicious! I made it for the holidays with my mother. The butter made it rich, and the cranberries made it festive. This one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kronstantinople December 25, 2008

I've made this a few times and everyone always loves it. Homemade biscotti is always SO much better than storebought because it doesn't hurt your teeth to bite into it. I usually substitute half of the flour with whole wheat flour to incorporate more fiber, vitamins, and minerals, and it still tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K!mbO October 08, 2007
Cranberry and Almond Biscotti With White Chocolate Drizzle