21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delightful, fabulous, delicious cake. My husband and son loved it!! The batter was such a light consistency while beating it. The cranberries add just enough tart to wake up your taste buds. I am going to make this recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Thank you so much. This will definitely become a family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine Cape Cod October 22, 2006

My family really enjoyed this cake. The almond flavor was delicious. I would like to try this with raspberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches July 16, 2005

Two, Two, Two Reviews in One! :) A friend made this for Christmas Day (I directed her to this website for another recipe, and she found this) and she absolutely raved about how good it was and how her guests loved it. So, of course, I enjoy almond paste so much I can eat it by itself. So I had to try this! And here's review #2--Made it for New Years Day. Since this wasn't being served to guests, I made some corrections to lower the saturated fat. I cut the butter in half, and added 1/4 cup canola oil. I also replaced the 1/4 cup of whole milk with 1/3 cup of lowfat buttermilk. I used Egg Beaters instead of whole eggs, and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. For a glaze, I mixed powdered sugar with cranberry cordial and a few drops of almond extract. Man, this was heavenly! I may try it again with even less butter since it came out so well. And maybe use cherries instead of cranberries. Thanks for posting this, Mean Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VictoriaL January 02, 2005

Everyone loved this beautiful cake when I brought it to a Christmas dinner. The cake batter is so light and fluffy - almost like frosting - but the baked cake is dense and moist. One person said it's like a cross between a cake and a quick bread. I made a simple powdered sugar/milk/almond extract glaze to drizzle over top, and I also sprinkled some slivered almonds over that. This is perfect for the holidays. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl January 01, 2005

Everyone at our Christmas gathering loved this! Not too sweet - just right. Great for dessert or even breakfast. Try this, it's great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine December 30, 2004

This is delicious. The directions were great, very easy to make and a really great flavor. The almond flavor is strong, but not overwhelming. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 November 25, 2004

This cake is delicious. The cranberries were a little tart surprise in a totally buttery, very yummy cake. The almond paste really made it special. The cake was quick to pull together, but in my oven it did take about 50 minutes to bake through. Because I didn't have any whole milk around, I increased the butter by a Tablespoon and decreased the milk by a tiny bit to compensate. It worked fine and if the empty cake plate is testimony to the flavor, others thought it was as delicious as I did. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay September 21, 2004

This is a scrumptious cake! I made it for a group of friends and it was unanimously pronouced delicious. I'm not easily impressed by cake recipes, but this one did it. I also used 1/4 recipe of Meanies almond paste recipe and about 2 cups of cranberries because that's what I had.1 piece left at 24 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carob February 28, 2004

Delicious. I followed instructions exactly and the cake was perfect in 45 minutes. Moist, tender, and the almond flavor is out-of-this world. It will be made often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW January 05, 2004

My dh made this cake for my birthday. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie December 07, 2003
Cranberry Almond Bundt Cake