Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crackle-Top Molasses Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crackle-Top Molasses Cookies

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2003

      These are delicious cookies and I love the way the top is crackled. Very easy to make. I added about 1/3 cup molasses for the 2 cups of flour and I didn't find the dough too soft. My kitchen was a bit on the cool side though, I can see that the dough might be softer in hot weather. I also added a bit extra cinnamon, since we love cinnamon. Great cookies, thanks for the recipe, Janet W.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      These were very good cookies. I added a little more molasses than the recipe called for (I was emptying the bottle) and the dough still didn't turn out too sticky. I didn't have to add more flour to compensate. I might add a little more cinnamon the next time - personal preference - but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. These cookies came out soft and warm from the oven, then became crunchy and good, but not hard, when they cooled. I'll make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Should be a 10 star review, being from Alaska I was spoiled by Great Harvest Bread Co.'s Saturday batch of molasses cookies. I've been craving them and finally decided to try my hand at it, adding a third cup of molasses and slightly more ginger, also only cooking for 8min, I was able to accomplish both the flavor and texture! AMAZING!! Was going to share them, but now I'm not sure, thanks Janet!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Very, very easy! I used 1/3c molasses and added more spice and they were lush! I made about 35 cookies with mine but they could have easily been made smaller or larger to suit. I might try and reduce the oil next time but other than that, lovely! Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Perfect, tasted exactly like I was looking for! I made a different recipe last year that used shortening which I didn't have any on hand so I searched for a recipe w/o and found this one. I did add an extra 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp salt, also a tad bit more molasses. Cooked 8-9min I wanted them soft! Thanks! Easy didnt even use a mixer, just by hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      Oh my! I shrunk the recipe so I wouldn't binge and I am GLAD I did because they are awesome! The only thing I changed was I added 1/2t of salt. Oh, I also did half whole wheat flour, half white. Twelve minutes later I am chowing down.... thanks I guess :O

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      Great cookies. Love all the flavors in them. Easy to work with and quick to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      These cookies have become an autumn tradition in my house - have been making them for years. They are every bit as wonderful as the reviews here indicate! This recipe is from "Cookies" by Natalie Hartanov Haughton, published by HP Books. My copy is copyright 1983; it is a 160 page softcover book, and is falling apart at the seams, as I use it so often! Hope this helps those of you searching for the original source.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      YUM! These cookies have a beautiful crisp outside and soft middle. They were easy to mix up and the flavor is delicious. Perfect recipe as written!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Pretty good cookie!! I made these with 1/2 whole wheat flour and couldn't tell the difference. I also rolled them in Turbinado sugar instead of regular sugar....crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      I made these last night and my husband said they tasted like little gingerbread men! I will keep this recipe for when I crave molasses cookies, which is often. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Great recipe! It's easy, tastes great and has the health benefits of molasses (iron, magnesium, calcium and potassium) and vegetable oil (zero trans fats). I also replaced 1/2 cup of the all-purpose flour with white whole wheat flour for a bit more fiber, increased the spices 1/4 tsp and reduced the sugar a smidge. Still chewy and flavorful, even with the fiddling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      I have used this recipe for years and it's one of my absolute favorites! (I also found it in an old cookbook) Everyone loves them! They are great with a little vanilla icing drizzled over them. You will not be disappointed by these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      This is the first time I have left a comment on Zaar, which is sad because I have used this site for about 2 years now. But this cookie changed all that... I have made them 3 times in the past 2 weeks. I LOVE them! They just taste so holiday-ish. I have also recommended them to 3 other people! I did make some changes: I used slightly less oil than the recipe called for and 1/3 cup molasses rather than 1/4. The dough is still easy to handle and the cookies never lack moisture. I also doubled all the spices amounts, and added 2 teaspoons of nutmeg, allspice, and powdered cardamom. I also used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, and used whole grain flours rather than white/all-purpose flour. Also, I baked them for 8-9 mins. which was plenty. They turned out excellent! My favorite cookie of all time (and I've made a LOT of cookies!). :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      anyone know the cookbook this recipe came from. I am trying to find the book cause it is the same book my mother in-law lost in a house fire. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      So yummy and easy! Just made them and as suggested I added a 1/3c molasses too because I like mine extra gooey. When cooked at 12 minutes they were a little more firm than I like, so like another gal said, I will bake them at 10 min next time. Really superb though. I love the idea of adding chili powder, I'm excited to try that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      ABSOLUTELY UNREAL! I heard molasses cookies were good for pregnant ladies, so I thought why not. I ate one coming out of the oven and I am now on my 5th and I can't stop! HELP! NOTE: I used dark molasses. Not sure if it matters :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      SO YUMMY!! These cookies are amazing.. I too added more spice in mine, and they we the perfect cookie. Heading to the store to get more molasses so I can double my next batch!!! Thanks so much for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Ok, I admit, you got me. I fixed these for my husband with no intention of having any, not being a fan at all. I had one warm (it broke !) and I was beginning to see the light. My DD stopped by, smelled the divine aroma, and had wolfed down 3 before I could get to them. I was all but rationing them until they were gone. Thank you for posting. DH rates them higher than his Mom's. Now that's more than 5!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      These cookies are wonderful. I made them using Canola oil and Splenda's sugar blend to cut the carbs for my Type II diabetic husband. I did not roll them in sugar either. I think I could have cut the Splenda/sugar mixture even more, because they are still quite sweet. But excellent! Compared to other recipes I have read that require shortening, butter, etc., these seem to be healthier, and they taste great. I would definitely make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crackle-Top Molasses Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (810 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.0
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    38%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 4.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 58.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites