30 Reviews

These are delicious cookies and I love the way the top is crackled. Very easy to make. I added about 1/3 cup molasses for the 2 cups of flour and I didn't find the dough too soft. My kitchen was a bit on the cool side though, I can see that the dough might be softer in hot weather. I also added a bit extra cinnamon, since we love cinnamon. Great cookies, thanks for the recipe, Janet W.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* April 18, 2003

These were very good cookies. I added a little more molasses than the recipe called for (I was emptying the bottle) and the dough still didn't turn out too sticky. I didn't have to add more flour to compensate. I might add a little more cinnamon the next time - personal preference - but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. These cookies came out soft and warm from the oven, then became crunchy and good, but not hard, when they cooled. I'll make these again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 March 03, 2003

Should be a 10 star review, being from Alaska I was spoiled by Great Harvest Bread Co.'s Saturday batch of molasses cookies. I've been craving them and finally decided to try my hand at it, adding a third cup of molasses and slightly more ginger, also only cooking for 8min, I was able to accomplish both the flavor and texture! AMAZING!! Was going to share them, but now I'm not sure, thanks Janet!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
More Gun June 29, 2010

Very, very easy! I used 1/3c molasses and added more spice and they were lush! I made about 35 cookies with mine but they could have easily been made smaller or larger to suit. I might try and reduce the oil next time but other than that, lovely! Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental September 01, 2009

Perfect, tasted exactly like I was looking for! I made a different recipe last year that used shortening which I didn't have any on hand so I searched for a recipe w/o and found this one. I did add an extra 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp salt, also a tad bit more molasses. Cooked 8-9min I wanted them soft! Thanks! Easy didnt even use a mixer, just by hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m December 15, 2013

Oh my! I shrunk the recipe so I wouldn't binge and I am GLAD I did because they are awesome! The only thing I changed was I added 1/2t of salt. Oh, I also did half whole wheat flour, half white. Twelve minutes later I am chowing down.... thanks I guess :O

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja June 15, 2012

Great cookies. Love all the flavors in them. Easy to work with and quick to do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 03, 2012

These cookies have become an autumn tradition in my house - have been making them for years. They are every bit as wonderful as the reviews here indicate! This recipe is from "Cookies" by Natalie Hartanov Haughton, published by HP Books. My copy is copyright 1983; it is a 160 page softcover book, and is falling apart at the seams, as I use it so often! Hope this helps those of you searching for the original source.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atticusam November 15, 2011

YUM! These cookies have a beautiful crisp outside and soft middle. They were easy to mix up and the flavor is delicious. Perfect recipe as written!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgriffith December 15, 2010

Pretty good cookie!! I made these with 1/2 whole wheat flour and couldn't tell the difference. I also rolled them in Turbinado sugar instead of regular sugar....crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead November 07, 2010
Crackle-Top Molasses Cookies