20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good! I think I like it just as much as sausage gravy, if not more. It's cheaper than sausage gravy too (and probably has less calories). I had to use dried onions because I didn't realize that I had run out of "real" onions, and I don't really recommend that. It had an overpowering flavor of minced onions. However, I can just imagine how awesome it would be with the right ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Rodz March 09, 2012

I just finished making this gravy recipe.It does taste a lot like Cracker Barrels.I didn't put as much pepper in it.I just peppered to taste,same with the salt.This is a keeper.Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serendipitya November 22, 2011

I think just a tad too much pepper for us, I would use only 1/2 what's called for next time but very good gravy and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew'sMom August 14, 2011

My husband said you better write that down! We had this with #9494 Cheddar bay biscuits copycat. AWESOME

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Girl August 01, 2011

We used to make gallons of this....hot milk and then add a "rue" of flour and bacon fat to thiken. Then we added cooked pork sausage choppes fine in a food proscesser to the mix. It keeps well and has the right amount of country ingredients....no onions or fancy ingredients....plain cooking and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
illinirn January 19, 2011

This gravy is great on toast or biscuits. Its a great keeper and thanks for shareing.5 stars for sure

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kandbstewart December 26, 2009

I needed something to liven up frozen Tyson Country Fried Steak...this was perfect and delicious. I served it over the patties with mashed potatoes on the side. Total hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2 T, K, K & G November 11, 2009

What is there to say? This is awesome!! This will be a regular in our house from now on! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Likes ta Cook January 03, 2009

This was pretty good! I changed it a little bit though -- I added about 1/8 cup of brown sugar, and used wheat flour instead and they came out wonderfully! My family loved it. I paired the biscuits with home made bacon gravy :D Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrganicGal August 02, 2008

Kids loved it, taste best over biscuits then it did over the mashed potatoes. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScorpioLuvstoCook December 23, 2007
Cracker Barrels White Gravy (Request)