Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-56 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2008

      The family here all had seconds on these! I baked them about 4 minutes longer than called for,but that could have been my oven. Served them with Bob Evans Sausage Gravy. (We couldn't decide which "restaurant to pick from tonight!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      This was a great recipe! I used the powdered buttermilk and reduced fat Bisquick and they turned out beautifully-great biscuity taste. The only thing I will do differently next time is roll them a bit thicker so they rise higher, but other than that I wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      A solid 5 star in my book, thanks so much Kay for a great recipe. It was easy and as fast as canned, but the taste, wow just like I remember the cracker barrel biscuits that we enjoy so much. They rise wonderful, look so nice enough for company and something you can do at the last minute when you've not planned anything. I'll be using this over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      In 30 years of hard core baking, this is without question the most exquisitely delicious biscuit recipe ever. I brushed mine with melted butter and honey. Good grief. Bury me in these biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Wonderfully successful in a convection oven. I reduced the temperature by 50 degrees, placed the biscuits in a shallow cast-iron skillet, then baked somewhere around 12 to 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      The only reason I give this a 4 star rating rather than a 5 is that these were so darn flaky they kind of fell apart while you were trying to butter and eat them but the taste is super! The only thing I did different from the recipe is halved it. Will make again you can bet! Thanks Kay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Oh my gosh! These are so good! Thank you so much for the recipe...I have never made homemade biscuits before and I decided to try and they turned out perfect! My whole family loved them...I will definately be making these more often..I had to double the recipe for bigger biscuits, and I cut them out with a glass and used my cast iron skillet. They were fluffy and buttery! Again thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      A tasty biscuit similar, but not EXACTLY like the Cracker Barrel's. It was simple to prepare and tasty with the stew my mother made for dinner, tonight. I did not have buttermilk on hand so I used a buttermilk substitute (one tablespoon lemon juice to one cup milk)and I spritzed the tops of my biscuits with butter spray and they still came out warm and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Mine did not rise as high but certainly did not have the bisquick taste. I used low fat bisquick, fat free buttermilk, and spray butter on the top. I doubled the recipe and cut them out with a glass. Easy to make and very tasty to dip into Spicy Black Bean Soup on a cold windy night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Maybe operator error considering the previous reviews but mine didn't rise as others have described. They don't taste of Bisquick but are kind of heavy. I'll play with this again & see if my results vary. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      I used by Baking Mix Aka "bisquick" Baking Mix Aka "bisquick" which is made using whole wheat pastry flour. These bisuits do rise very high and are delicious. My yield was 7 towering bisuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      These are terrific. Really fast to make, and rise as high as mountains. I double the recipe, then press the dough onto a pizza pan, and slice into squares with a knife. I've been using Pioneer Buscuit mix, and making my own buttermilk with 2Tbsp of lemon juice added to regular milk. I make these every 2 days, they are that popular. Great for homemade Sausage and Egg Breakfast buscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      These were good! I was worried at first because the dough was pretty wet and sticky - I'd suggest starting with a little less buttermilk and adding more until you have a good consistency - but the end result was nice and fluffy and good. I couldn't really tell if they tasted like Cracker Barrel's or not, but my mom said they did, and we all liked them regardless. I'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      A fast racipe that's easy to make. It resulted in nice hot fluffy homemade biscuits in no time at all. Delicious with butter and raspberry preserves! Thanks you for sharing your recipe with us Kay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2005

      These biscuits are great! I ended up making my own Bisquick with a Zaar copycat recipe and these still turned out great! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      i'm sorry my family and i just really didn't care for these at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (469 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    36%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 318.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites