56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are really good and quick. Used a little vinegar in the milk instead of buttermilk. Baked for 8 minutes and they were perfect with my sausage gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb April 06, 2014

These are as close as I think you can get to CB biscuits at home. I was skeptical of using Bisquick, so I made my own from a recipe I found on this website. Also, rather than buying buttermilk just for this recipe, I make my own my combining the milk (just shy of 2/3 cup) with about 2/3 Tbsp. of lemon juice and let sit for 5 minutes. These are so fabulous! I had been a homemade biscuit failure until I discovered this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniejt12_7178319 December 06, 2013

Definitely not Cracker Barrel biscuits. Tasted like a buttery flavored Bisquick biscuit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie M. October 30, 2013

These are DELICIOUS. I love cooking with buttermilk and these biscuits were quick and easy. This is a definite keeper recipe, and I hope to share these with a special gentleman in the future!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalie S. October 19, 2013

Two stars for convience. This is not a recipe I would use unless pressed for time. Could use maybe a half tsp. of salt for taste (which was flat) and split the buttermilk with whole milk to lessen the buttermilk aftertaste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marge18 March 19, 2013

Amazing! Followed recipe exactly. I hate to say it, but I find these better than Cracker Barrel's. (and I love that place!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarstar February 03, 2013

These were so delicious and simple. I want to point out that I changed a couple things around to guarantee me a soft biscuit. 1) I sifted the flour. 2) I cut the kneading down to 10x rather than the suggested 20x. Also I agree with another reviewer don't skimp on the butter, be generous. I know butter is scary, but it really gives the biscuits such a nice flavor. Obviously these aren't something you should eat everyday haha, but they are good for a Sunday morning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirrkat January 20, 2013

These taste almost exactly like Cracker Barrel biscuits. I loved these. The only change I would make would be to try and skip the kneading, so the biscuits would be fluffier. I used regular buttermilk. Oh, and my biscuit bottoms cooled way quicker than the tops, so put them on the top rack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
callib November 14, 2012

WOW! These are truly the best biscuits I've ever made! All the other recipes come out like rocks, but these were huge, fluffy, delicious biscuits. You're right when you say that the dough is very forgiving. I live in Puerto Rico, so dough recipes usually come out bad because of the extra flour I have to add due to the humidity, but not this one! I added probably 1/4 cup of extra flour because I dusted the surface with it and sprinkled a bit in the dough while I was kneading it, yet they still came out delicious! Plus, I didn't have buttermilk (it's nearly impossible to find in PR), so I had to use the vinegar and milk trick. I can imagine how delicious these are with real buttermilk. Thank you soooooo much for sharing! I don't think I've ever been so excited about biscuits before :0)

*Update: I reheated the biscuits from last night and they were still just as awesome. They didn't have that nasty reheated flavor that many bread products have when you microwave them. I made bacon, egg & cheese biscuits this morning. Mmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Rodz March 09, 2012

Fantastic-light and fluffy biscuits...not heavy like you would think, I would never think that a Bisquick recipe would be so impressive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat February 22, 2012
Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits