Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2011

      These are AWESOME biscuits! I can't believe biscuits this good can be made from Bisquick! It's so fast and easy. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used the trick of adding a little vinegar to regular milk to make my own. My biscuits turned out so light and fluffy. Thank you so much Kay for sharing your recipe. Believe me, I will be making these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      The bisquick is as close as you will get to the "dry mix" used for those biscuits. Made from shortening and self rising flour we made up "pounds" of it at a time and used it all on morning shifts. But no sugar was ever put in the original. Sr flour, shortening and buttermilk then real butter brushed on top. I've made millions!! And handle them e-a-s-y!! Happy baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      I am so anti-Bisquick...yet I've been seeing all these recipes using it that have me "curious" so I got a small box. I always make biscuits from scratch BUT I was so tired that I wanted a little shortcut. Fiance took a bite and hadn't even finished swallowing when he said "OH MY GOD, these are good!"...so I guess I'm not so anti-Bisquick after all. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      I can't tell you how pleased I am with this recipe! The last time I tried to make homemade buttermilk biscuits I slaved for ages and ended up with flat hockey pucks...so disappointing. So I was a bit leary to try this but really don't much care for the canned biscuits either, so I was determined. Well, it's been so many years since I had Cracker Barrel's that I don't remember how they taste, so I can't rate on that basis, but these were EASY, FAST, and YUMMY! I rolled too thin too and got more like 16 biscuits, but that was fine. Thought I'd have enough for a couple of meals, but between my husband, 3 year old son, 1 year old daughter, and me...they were all gone the night I made them. I will totally keep this recipe and make it again and again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      These biscuits were wonderful! They do taste almost identical to Cracker Barrel's recipe! It was a very easy dough to work. I love using Bisquick because it's ready to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      These biscuits maybe good but they are definitly NOT Cracker Barrel's recipe. I have a friend who works at one of their stores and makes biscuits there every day and this is NOT their recipe. They start with self rising floor, no bisquick is ever involved in then at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      These were delicious! Have to say the first time I tried them with a mix other than Bixquick and it did not work. With the Bisquick they were perfect. Quick and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      One thing for sure Cracker Barrel does not use Bisquick. The thing that they use that makes them light and fluffy is lard.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      My husband and I have been married 3 years and this recipie is the first biscuit recipie he actually requested i make again. These are delicious and very simple!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      I made these for breakfast this morning and they are wonderful! You really can't tell they were made with Bisquick (although I personally do not have a problem with the way Bisquick tastes). I used powdered buttermilk and accidentally put 2 tablespoons of butter but they still came out great! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Made these for sausage gravy and oh boy, they are soooo good!!! Not a hint of bisquick taste, just a yummy, flakey biscuit with a hint of sweetness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      These are awesome! I made "Bisquick" as I try not to buy things I can make myself. There is one left from dinner and I intend to get it!! Thank you Kay for sharing this great little recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      So easy to throw together and better than anything out of a can! thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I've never made biscuits, bread, or anything from dough before, but these turned out excellent. They do taste like Cracker Barrel. I didn't have buttermilk, so I put some vinegar into the milk, stirred, and let it sit for 10 minutes. I'm using the left-overs to make cracker barrel meatloaf, which calls for their biscuits to be grated instead of crackers. Top notch biscuits.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      I've never been to Cracker Barrel but these are very good biscuits! I always appreciate a Bisquick recipe, since their rising is so reliable. I got 6 fairly large biscuits. Thanks Kay, for posting. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      This was a fantastic recipe. My husband should own stock in Cracker Barrel he loves the biscuits so much. When he tasted this recipe he said we were definatly in trouble. It looks like I will be making them 7 days a week for a while. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      Very good biscuits. The dough is very tender. Nice flavor from the buttermilk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      These are excellent tender biscuits. I can't believe the buttermilk made such a difference! This is my new favorite and easy biscuit recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      I can't believe I am the first to make and review this recipe. These biscuits are soooooooo good! Perfect in every way! The rise high, the are soft and tender and the flavor is amazing. They don't have a Bisquick flavor at all and they do taste like Cracker Barrell's yummy biscuits! I topped mine with apple jelly and another one with honey. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      These are really good and quick. Used a little vinegar in the milk instead of buttermilk. Baked for 8 minutes and they were perfect with my sausage gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (469 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    36%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 318.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites