10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never eaten at CB before so I cannot vouch for the authenticity of the recipe. I can however, vouch for the outstanding taste of this casserole. I cooked supper for 100 hungry cowboys & cowgirls after their big day of shooting competition. We had prime rib, roasted ham and lots of trimmings but this potato casserole was the biggest hit of the evening. People were coming back for heaps of 2nds and 3rds. I received tons of compliments. I followed the recipe as closely as possible when increasing x10. I will definitely keep this in my recipe repetoire. It is an awesome recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandyberry October 15, 2007

Definitely tasty, Next time I'll add a bit more cheese though, I love my cheese! Thanks Cathee for being part of a great comfort meal on a cold night. Made for PAC 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 November 06, 2012

Great recipe, but mine did not turn out to taste just like Cracker Barrel's. It could be because I reduced the recipe. I used a 20 oz. bag of Simply Potatoes Shredded Hash Browns. I kept both cups of cheese but put one cup in the mixture and one cup on top of the casserole during the last 25 minutes of baking because I did not have any corn flakes. Cooked for 50 minutes. DH said that the texture was just perfect. Everyone loved the "au gratin" taste too. I am going to make this for our next work potluck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon A. H October 17, 2009

These are fantastic! I substituted cream of chicken for the cream of mushroom as that is what I had on hand. VERY much tasted like Cracker Barrel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldieloxx October 15, 2009

This is awesome! Tastes just like sitting at Cracker Barrel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdeclet June 09, 2009

Excellent. I've tried many recipes like this and this one is my definate favorite! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillcomeau June 27, 2008

Yummy!! I didn't have shredded hashbrowns so I used the cubed kind. I increased cooking time by 10 minutes aand used only 1/2 cup of crushed corn flakes. 1 1/2 cups just seemed an awful lot to me. Anyway, was really great and got rave reviews with our company. I will try it with the right type of hashbrowns next time but rest assured it's good with any.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 July 02, 2007

So easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadi May 01, 2007

This is a quick and easy dish to prepare. We loved the creamy cheesiness of the potatoes. This is an excellent dish for potlucks too. 5 stars all the way, Cathee B.'s.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot January 29, 2007

I'm so happy you posted this. On our trips to Florida we like to stop in at The Cracker Barrel at least once and try something differant. Last visit I had the hashbrown cassarole with my breakfast and just had to have the recipe. Searched Zaar, as I usually do nad lo and behold, here it is. Thanks so much for posting. Unfortunatly I didn't have any frozen hashbrowns, so I made my own and went from there. Thank goodness there are leftovers! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama July 23, 2006
Cracker Barrel Hash Browns Recipe - Copycat