10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love the hint of a beefy flavour! I don't use salt b/c of the cheese. It's a bit greasy but what a great casserole for brunch of dinner!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco February 25, 2007

Just delicious,and no canned soup.I put it in a ovenproof skillet,was soood good.Thanks mommy2taylor.Rose of Sharon

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
out of here October 29, 2005

Delecious! I really liked the fact I didn't need cream of chicken soup. Christy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy H October 18, 2005

Omg, this is so good! SO much better than canned soup approach. I reduced to two servings and did not need all the liquid. I do like the browning of hashbrowns in skillet but not too sure that putting the liquid into skillet for stove top part is necessary. Because I reduced to two servings 30 minutes was enough oven time. I omitted the salt (cheese has plenty) and omitted butter in skillet --instead I used cooking spray (teflon skillet) for browning the hashbrowns. It was still a tad greasy with the butter in liquid. Definitely a repeater---lol-- I have made this twice and my dear man wants it again. TY for posting, m2t. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal July 06, 2013

Looks like the exact same recipe I downloaded online and found in the Top Secret Recipes that restaurants don't want you to know paperback book. Good Stuff!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chöich August 04, 2009

it stuck to the pan and it didnt taste like cracker barrels casserole at all! i followed the instructions step by step... i would suggest that instead of using beef broth, use water instead because i think thats what tasted so bad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shine4dalost May 16, 2008

I made this for my Easter brunch. I was going to make a single recipe, but was having alot of people, and wasn't sure it would go, but I doubled it anyway. It was almost all gone!!! Got rave reviews by everyone who had it!! and lots of recipe requests. This one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SisterGoldenHair April 01, 2008

Very likeable!! This recipe is very similar to the real deal at Cracker Barrel. I made the following adaptations due to the items I had on hand- I used cheddar instead of colby cheese and I used chicken broth instead of beef. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as noted and it turned out cheesy, warm and filling! Thanks for the delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyc4me03 March 29, 2008

I have not actually tried this recipe, but I remember getting a copycat CB hashbrown casserole recipe oout of a book I borrowed from my mother in law. As a matter of fact, it may have been the Top Secret book previously mentioned. I remember that the recipe was a little different from what I expected, and that it had colby cheese in it. I believe this is the recipe. Thank you! I have been looking for it for a couple years now. Just one hint, whatever you do, DON'T substitute another cheese for the colby. It will NOT turn out the same :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseBella3 November 25, 2007

I have this recipe. And it is wonderful. I got it from the book Top Secret Recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RottNDachs November 26, 2005
Cracker Barrel Hash Browns Casserole 2 - Copycat