Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cracker Barrel Fried Apples Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cracker Barrel Fried Apples

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2011

      As a former Cracker Barrel employee, I can say these are close to the real thing: good, but it needs some tweaking. I think the CB are too sweet, anyhow. We doublesd the apples, used half the sugar, and only 1.5 Tablespoons of cornstarch. It came out very thick, and just the right hint of sweetness. Great with a pork roast, great with pancakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      I cooked the apples for 20 minutes.For the spice mix I used 1 teaspoon cinnamon,1/2 nutmeg grated, and 1/2 teaspoon cardamom. I use my vanilla sugar. Flavored Sugars Flavored Sugar or Splenda. These apples would be great on anything from ice cream to a pork roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I added a couple tablespoons of butter and a pinch of salt. They were absolutely delicious! Even my picky three year old loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      I made these apples last night and 2 of my boys LOVED them (the other one isn't much of an apple eater). It doesn't taste 100% like Cracker Barrel's, but they were good in their own right. I might try adding a little butter next time to see if that makes them taste more like Cracker Barrel's. I only used 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, and the sauce was plenty thick enough for me. Thanks PaulaG, for your great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      Loved them! Doubled the recipe and was glad I did. The kids inhaled these with dinner. We didn't find them too sweet, they were just right. Too much of my apple juice cooked off, so I needed to add a bit more at the end to whisk in with the cornstarch mixture. For 1 t apple pie spice, I used 1/2 t cinnamon, 1/4 t nutmeg, 1/8 t cardamom, and 1/8 t allspice, a sub from Diana Rattray. Thanks, Paula!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I made these for supper tonight. They were DELICIOUS!! I did add real butter to mine, one because I think butter gives everything a better taste. (I remember seeing butter on them at Cracker Barrel.) The hubby is still eating them. He says he will have more before he goes to bed. It is a good thing I made a double batch. I bet there won't be any left when I come home from work tomorrow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I used Prairie Spy apples (bumper crop this year) and substituted Splenda for the sugar. I think most varieties of apple would be fine. These were wonderful,easy to make, and my husband has requested them again (with oatmeal and applesauce pancakes). ps They do freeze very well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      These asre really stewed, not fried, but regardless of what you call them they are GREAT! I've never been to Cracker Barrel, so I can't say if these are true to their recipe, but they *do* remind me a lot of the side-dish apples from Boston Market -- only much better (and I love theirs, so this is really saying something!). I used Gala apples and loved the flavor, and the color of the skin added a nice visual contrast to the Low-Fat Apple Ginger Spice Whole Wheat Waffles #301645 I served with these. The only other change I made was to reduce the sugar to 3 tablespoons, simply because I don't like things too sweet. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      These are probably pretty close to Cracker Barrel's apples. I have tried at least four different recipes (with amaretto too) and two kinds of apples. I definitely liked the golden delicious apples better than Granny Smith (tart). I also thought that the flavor was much better when I stirred in the spices and then cooked the apples rather than waiting until the end to add spices and pour the sauce over the top. The blender is not necessary but perhaps is suggested to eliminate lumps. We also like the apples better peeled, but I think that Cracker Barrel leaves theirs unpeeled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2014

      Every time we go to Cracker Barrel we order the apples because they are so good. After tasting these apples they are very close in flavor to Cracker Barrel's. Now we will be able to have them at home anytime we want them. Made and reviewed for the Culinary Quest Event 2014 - Cruisin Culinary Queens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      These are delicious! Using the apple juice and spice really upped the flavour. Used the apples to top #513434.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      This recipe is great! I have found it is good enough for both red and green apple varieties. As a frequent Cracker Barrel patron, this is better than an at-home substitute. Hint - if you don't have apple pie spice as a staple in your pantry (like me), use a 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon & nutmeg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I think this tastes better than Cracker Barrel!!!! I used apple pie spice, and I think that's what makes the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      I think this recipe is WONDERFUL! I gave it 5 stars even though after getting everything prepped I discovered we were out of apple juice. After panicking for 5 minutes straight, I decided to sub OJ. They still turned out DELICIOUS! This is a definite keeper but next time I'll use the apple juice ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      Better than Cracker Barrel (which I love)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      delicious! I added a 1/4 teaspoon of brown sugar and used ginger,nutmeg,and cinnamon in place of apple pie spice since I couldnt find apple pie spice. Definitely would make again but with less sugar..was super sweet..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

    • on July 17, 2012

      Great recipe! I didn't have apple pie spice, so I stuck to cinnamon. The were perfect. Now a must have for my holiday meals. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      YUM O...great, easy and wonderful. I added just a little sugar, 2/3 cup, the apples I used were not really sweet neither was the juice. GREAT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      Nice, but not really fried at all, but rather stewed apples in apple juice. Not unlike apple pie filling, but just better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cracker Barrel Fried Apples

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.5
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    33%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 33.7 g
    135%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    apple pie spice


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites