17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe. Thanks for sharing. I have made this a few times now and I am still not getting the salt and pepper mixtures exactly right - but it is getting there. I also like the broth thicker than it was getting on it's own (even after letting it cook) - so I added a little corn startch/water mixture to help it a little.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sun10down April 28, 2009

This recipe was excellent! It requires alot of time and patience, but well worth it. Once I really floured the surface and batter, it was a whole lot easier to work with.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fallonm May 13, 2010

I've been making this recipe for several years. I sometimes cook the broth and chicken then freeze for later in the week/month. They freeze well - all you have to do is "melt" the broth and make the dumplings. In a pinch canned chicken stock works well too, just cook the chicken pieces in the stock while you make your dumplings. 5 stars at our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamMal January 04, 2010

Was very good. I needed to add a little bit of cornstarch for thickening, but after talking to my sister she said I needed to cook the dumplings on a lower heat and longer. I did double my dumpling recipe! Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathee B. November 24, 2009

I only used this recipe for the dumplings (my preference is always for the rolled dumpling like my great-grandmother used to make)...and they turned out just right. I didn't have milk on hand, but did have buttermilk, but they still taste great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarra_32 November 08, 2009

Awesome recipe!! Everyone liked it and it was easy to make. Great tip about the pizza cutter!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissagball April 02, 2009

this recipe was great, it was a little thinner than i expected next time i will thicken the sauce a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacielee August 28, 2007

I am so sorry I didn't review this before. I made it again last night for the 2nd time and it is just fabulous. I was really suspicious of the dumpling technique, but it is hands down the best chix & dumplings I have ever made !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caz October 24, 2005

This went over really well with my family. I followed the directions exactly, except that I did add a little chicken bouillon instead of salt.
I agree with Chef #600333. Using enough flour to make the dumplings makes it easier. Since the batter was so "loose", I put a huge spoonful of it on a well floured surface, covered it generously with more flour, pressed it out with my hands and cut it with a large butcher's knife. I gently lifted the dumplings up, let the excess flour fall through my fingers and tossed them into the boiling broth.
Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chanceosunshine January 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. My only suggestion would be to cut the pepper in half. We all agreed that the pepper was way to overpowering. Other than that it turn out amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryrob January 06, 2013
Cracker Barrel Chicken & Dumplings