Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cracker Barrel Chicken & Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cracker Barrel Chicken & Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2009

      Great recipe. Thanks for sharing. I have made this a few times now and I am still not getting the salt and pepper mixtures exactly right - but it is getting there. I also like the broth thicker than it was getting on it's own (even after letting it cook) - so I added a little corn startch/water mixture to help it a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      This recipe was excellent! It requires alot of time and patience, but well worth it. Once I really floured the surface and batter, it was a whole lot easier to work with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I've been making this recipe for several years. I sometimes cook the broth and chicken then freeze for later in the week/month. They freeze well - all you have to do is "melt" the broth and make the dumplings. In a pinch canned chicken stock works well too, just cook the chicken pieces in the stock while you make your dumplings. 5 stars at our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Was very good. I needed to add a little bit of cornstarch for thickening, but after talking to my sister she said I needed to cook the dumplings on a lower heat and longer. I did double my dumpling recipe! Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I only used this recipe for the dumplings (my preference is always for the rolled dumpling like my great-grandmother used to make)...and they turned out just right. I didn't have milk on hand, but did have buttermilk, but they still taste great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Awesome recipe!! Everyone liked it and it was easy to make. Great tip about the pizza cutter!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      this recipe was great, it was a little thinner than i expected next time i will thicken the sauce a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I am so sorry I didn't review this before. I made it again last night for the 2nd time and it is just fabulous. I was really suspicious of the dumpling technique, but it is hands down the best chix & dumplings I have ever made !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      This went over really well with my family. I followed the directions exactly, except that I did add a little chicken bouillon instead of salt.
      I agree with Chef #600333. Using enough flour to make the dumplings makes it easier. Since the batter was so "loose", I put a huge spoonful of it on a well floured surface, covered it generously with more flour, pressed it out with my hands and cut it with a large butcher's knife. I gently lifted the dumplings up, let the excess flour fall through my fingers and tossed them into the boiling broth.
      Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. My only suggestion would be to cut the pepper in half. We all agreed that the pepper was way to overpowering. Other than that it turn out amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      This was absolutely delicious!!! My entire family picky toddlers included loved it!!! I will be making this agai. Its a great alternative to chicken soup on a col, rainy day. Made with Cracker Barrel Green Beans #78938. Awesome that I can now make one of my favorite dishes at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Restaurant Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam) and www.TopSecretRecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      These dumplings turned into hockey pucks.. very hard. Not anything like Cracker Barrel's dumplings. I guess I just need to keep looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

    • on October 17, 2008

      This is by far the BEST recipe ever for Chicken and Dumplings! Thank you Shayne for your posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      My DH had been hunting and was gone for almost a week. When he called me to let me know when he would be home, I told him I was makeing chicken n dumplins for supper. He drove about 300 miles with out stoping so he could get home and have some!! Come to find out he had been telling his hunting guys about how he would crall 100 miles to eat some of my (Shaye's) C & D. Thank You Shaye.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Loved this! Can'wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cracker Barrel Chicken & Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (1232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1018.2
     
    Calories from Fat 489
    48%
    Total Fat 54.4 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 264.7 mg
    88%
    Sodium 2182.4 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 72.4 g
    144%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh parsley leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites