16 Reviews

This is an excellent recipe for making carrots. I have always loved the carrots from Cracker Barrel, and this recipe comes pretty close. I reduced the amount of butter a little, and they still tasted wonderful! The recipe doesn't state when to add the salt, but I added mine at the beginning, so the carrots could cook the entire time with it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys April 03, 2013

Not sure why I haven't done a review. My DD loves these and request for them to be made quite often. They are definitely a staple in our household. The carrots are yummy and very easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill C. March 17, 2013

SO SCRUMPTIOUS! Made these for our Thanksgiving potluck at work & everyone loved them. They were so good. Will definitely be making these for Turkey day next week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalosmommy November 17, 2012

My heavens these were AMAZING! Usually I have bacon grease, this time I was out. Even without the bacon grease these were terrific! Will make next time with the grease. Not that anyone around here needs it, but a dollop of bacon grease in ANY vegetable always makes it that much yummier! Unlike other reviewers, mine did not take on a brown flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe August 28, 2011

I made these for a potluck at work and they were slow to move (as all veggies are at our store) until word of mouth and some people having seconds and thirds generated more interest. Everyone loved them. Funny thing is we ate at Cracker Barrel that night and I don't think they use brown sugar. My carrots took on a brown color while their carrots actually look steamed and maybe use white sugar. I used 4 lbs of carrots with the same amounts on the other ingredients. I just thought 1/2 c of brown sugar and 1/2 c of honey would be too sweet. I've had requests for the recipe so maybe the non veggie people will try it next time before it disappears:) Thank you for posting such a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 October 14, 2006

These sound good. A Cracker Barrel employee told me they cook their carrots with Karo syrup added to the water. To serve toss with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janiedavis896 May 15, 2016

Great carrots!! The kids LOVE it!! Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper Freak December 21, 2011

I don't know if these are like Cracker Barrel's since I have never eaten them there. But I sure did enjoy these carrots, and usually I don't care much for carrots. Hubby said he thought CB were sweeter, but he said he liked these too, but I thought these were just perfect, or I would never have gone back for seconds! Very good and I will be making them again, thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula July 26, 2010
Cracker Barrel Baby Carrots