Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crabapple Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crabapple Hot Pepper Jelly

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2009

      A very easy and dependable recipe, which I have made 3 times (so far). I used apples thinned from our trees in the spring. I didn't have cheesecloth, so I lined my strainer with several overlapping dampened coffee filters and left it to drip for 4 hours. I found it took longer than stated to reach a set, then realized that I should have started the timing when it foamed up and the entire surface was covered with lots of tiny bubbles with many larger ones bubbling through. When timed from that point it took 20 minutes. I didn't have red wine vinegar the first time I made it, so I successfully substituted apple cider vinegar. However, I have since made it with red wine vinegar and like the flavor and color much more made with red wine vinegar. It went from a good jelly to an outstanding jelly. To suspend the pepper pieces, ater I took it off heat, I stirred it every minute or so for 10 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Instead of throwing the pulp away I made crabapple sauce - very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Excellent jelly! It's wonderful on cream cheese with tortilla chips. I did have to cook my batch a bit longer than 10 mintues to get it to set.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This is excellent! I have a crabapple tree in my backyard and was looking for an interesting way to use up the harvest, and since I'd wanted to try a pepper jelly as well, this recipe was perfect! The idea was to give these as Christmas gifts, but it was so good that it unfortunately didn't last long enough... although I did serve a couple jars of it at parties and it went over great, so next fall I'll have to make a double-batch and give some away after all. (One note, I did get "floating peppers", so maybe I didn't stir it enough as it cooled? We'll see how the next batch goes.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I had to cook this for an additional 15 minutes to start having it set as described in step 21. Other than that it worked great. The flavor is excellent and can be spread thin for those who find it to hot. Our batches each resulted in an even 5 cups of Jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      I have made this recipe several times, always with perfect results. Sometimes the jelly comes out red and other times clear and I don't know why, but it always taste the same. It is delicious over cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      I do jellies for farmers markets, and needed something to do with a crate of summer apples that someone gave me. I substituted small summer apples for crab apples, and it turned out delicious! I couldn't believe how well this jelly set. Fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      this is delicious, I have made 3 batches and have shared the recipe with several of my friends. The only thing that I did different was I bought a pickled hot peppers and used them instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crabapple Hot Pepper Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (2213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 607.0
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    56%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 157.1 g
    52%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 125.7 g
    503%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites