57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WAYYYY easier than making individual crab rangoons!! Thanks! I easily doubled the recipe, swapped chives for green onions as i didn't feel like making a run to the store, added some tabasco soy sauce, and omitted the sweet n sour sauce. Was WONDERFUL!!! Thanks Chris! 3-1-2010... love to use up extra dip with ritz crackers. doesn't matter wether the dip is warmed or cold, irrestible either way!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes March 20, 2010

Fabulous! This is one of the easiest dips I have ever made. This was a huge hit as we love crab rangoons, but not the calories or expense of takeout. I didn't have parsley on hand so omitted that. I didn't use parm. cheese on wontons either. I also used the 1/3 reduced cream cheese and skim milk. A definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teacherke December 29, 2008

My parents and DH loved this dip. I wasn't quite as dazzled by it, but I couldn't seem to stop eating it so that should tell you something! It tasted similar to rangoon but we all felt it needed a bit more cream cheese. The wonton strips were fantastic! They were very easy to make and came out nice and crispy; the parmesan was also a nice touch. One half package of wontons was perfect for the amount of dip this makes, although I don't think anyone would complain about having some extra lying around! This dish was enjoyed by all. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 July 15, 2007

This was unbelievable! I've given this recipe out to friends, great for parties. I put dip in my mini crockpot and put sweet/sour sauce on side. thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elvis's mom September 10, 2006

Nice change of pace for a dip, but for someone that LOVES crab rangoon, this wasn't quite it. Watch the wontons carefully as they turn from golden to charred very quickly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott1265 January 14, 2006

This recipe is delicious! I think next time I will omit the milk. It was a little too thin, but than again, it's suppose to be a dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy M. October 10, 2013

I'm sorry, I really wanted to like this recipe, because I love crab rangoons. All I could taste was the cream cheese. I will try it again using less cream cheese and maybe some heavy cream or mayo or sour cream. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmerph March 30, 2013

This was a really good dip. DD made this for our Christmas Eve buffet table and we loved it. The only thing we did different (and not on purpose.) was she mixed the sweet and sour sauce into the dip, instead of topping with it. It made it a pink shade, and a little sweeter but we still liked it. Thank you for sharing, we will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 02, 2013

I can't believe I didn't rate this recipe before. I was preparing my Super Bowl spread (Pittsburgh all the way!) and I brought up our households' most famous recipe and I didn't rate it. Here's why it's so famous: My DH hates seafood; he pretty much is a meat and potatoes guy. But he knows at holidays and when I have company I make some wild recipes. I made a Christmas brunch one year and invited the neighbors. I had tons of different things to choose. Everyone was chowing down and rating their favories. Well my DH comes in for his plate, picks up the crab and states "Now that's GOOD." We just died. He was never so red faced as when he found out what it was called. Thanks for making food fun for our family. PS: Make this with canned crab; it tastes better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sweetie's Sweetheart February 15, 2011
Crab Rangoon Dip