Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crab Rangoon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crab Rangoon

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2002

      Here's a little tip for making crab Rangoon: make sure you squeeze out all the air before sealing the wonton. If you don't a huge bubble will form when they're deep fried causing them to pop open. There are 2 bad things that occur when that happens: the filling gets very greasy; and you get very burned with spatters of hot oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2002

      We made these for 20 people,during the holidays.They were wonderful.Everyone complimented them.I love them at Chinese restaurants,now I can make my own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      This recipe is excellent. I did make a mistake because I made them and froze them without cooking first. Tonight, I took them out to defrost them and they did not want to seperate. However, the taste is so good. At the Oriental restaurants when I have this dish, it is usually very pastey, very thick. This recipe is light and tasty. I will make this again. We had this and geosa and that was our Friday night pizza substitute this week. Glad we left the pizza at the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2002

      Thank you for posting this recipe! These are so easy to make and taste like they came from a restaurant! This is one of my new favorites!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Made this for the first time last saturday while my mother-in-law was there. She had so much fun helping me make these (she called them packages). I'm not a good cook, and everyone at the party I took them too, ranted and raved about them! I made a small substitution on the ginger. I used ground instead of fresh...and I used shrimp instead of crab, but they tasted great! Thanks for the posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      A fun thing to do at a party is deep frying them during the party. I have people waiting at the fryer for them. Also between the rangoons fry some popcorn shrimp or battered veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      This is a good recipe, but too sour creamy! I like the crab flavor to be more pronounced!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      We loved this recipe. The only problem I had was getting all of the air out (how do you do that?) and the filling wanted to "leak" out. I will have to master this since this recipe is sooo good and I will have to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I love crab rangoon, but this didn't taste like the good "take-out" kind. It wasn't sweet like I'm used to, and all I can really taste is the ginger. Next time, if I do it again, I'll probably nix the ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      I made these for a Christmas party and was very disappointed. I didn't like the ginger addition at all, and when fried, the rangoons popped open and the filling ran out into the oil. They didn't taste anything like Crab Rangoon in Chinese restaurants either. They were a big disappointment in flavor and overall result.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      i did not have very good luck making these. i couldnt get them to seal enough so the filling wouldn't leak out. I added a touch of worcestershire cux it needed a little something. i gave up after the 12th one. this is so time consuming and i just wasn't having any luck. a tsp of filling seemed to be the right amount while raw but once cooked didn't seem to be enough in there. i got frustrated and gave up

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Wow, these are so good. My two DD's made these for our Super Bowl buffet table. Everyone loved them, I plan on making them often when we make "take out" at home. Thank you so much for sharing this "oh so good" treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Amazing! My husband and made them together, he fried and I stuffed. Making them like that went quickly. Thanks for posting this recipe! I am sure we will enjoy this one many many times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      OH YUM! We have been craving these and can't find any Chinese restaurants here in Germany that serve them! These were sooo yummy!! I omitted the green onions and ginger though, I didn't have them on-hand - and I used about 2 tbs. of powdered sugar instead (easier to blend) and yet they still turned out JUST like the crab rangoons we used to always eat back in the states!! Big thanks from both my husband and myself!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      These were better than our chinese restaurant's! We love the crab rangoon at the restaurant we go to, but its so greasy and kind-of overfried so this was a real treat. I didnt change a thing about the filling and it was delicious. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Great recipe! My husband loved these!! They are just like our favorite resturant crab rangoons. I didn't change any of the ingredients, but I did cut the amounts in half since we are just a family of four. Thank You!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      I made these for Christmas Eve, and they were a HUGE hit! Here's a tip, though...instead of using regular sugar, use powdered sugar instead. I used this recipe as a base but changed the sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      We made these for a party where they would be fried at the party and not at home. My husband and I made the wontons before leaving the house and I was very concerned that they might not "sit" well in the fridge without cooking right away BUT I didn't want to spend all that time at the party prepping them. I'm happy to report that they did just fine "sitting" and cooked up great. We got rave reviews from the party. We served them with a choice of sweet and sour sauce and sweet chili sauce - hands down the sweet chili sauce was the winner. Thanks for another great recipe Di!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Well, I've made crab rangoon many times, with many different recipes, and this is my FAVORITE! It was a huge hit on the appetizer table at our thanksgiving celebration. Yum. They are easy to make and they make A LOT. We will make these many more times--thanks di!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      5 star quality love this recipe its easy to make especially if you prep it before hand ... WELLLLLLLL DONE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Crab Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crab Rangoon

    Serving Size: 1 (611 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 34.1
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    87%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 10.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 43.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crabmeat

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites