17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! An easy and fast stove top dinner. I used 1 lb of imitation crab meat, shredded parmesan rather than romano; 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes, drained; rather than a fresh tomato and served it over Vermicelli pasta accompanied with a tossed salad and warm bread. Next time I would butter my noodles; the sauce is thick and chunky, but absolutley delicious! I also tried the sauce before the cheese was added; so if you don't care for the cheeses it calls for, the sauce is still wonderful. A keeper!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 15, 2002

I've never before given a recipe only 1 star, and I really hated to rate this one so low. However, none of the 6 of us could eat more than one or two bites of this recipe and I had to throw all of it out. I can only conclude that it was the imitation crab that made the dish taste so bad...we all love the other ingredients used. I would make the recipe again to see if it was any better the next time, but my family has threatened me with bodily harm if I ever serve this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess August 04, 2003

Wonderful !! I have made this numerous times. I add 2 cans of crab meat and I use Monterey Jack cheese. I use parmesan cheese sprinkled on top before serving. It is very rich and goes a long way. I would recommend spooning the sauce over the linguine instead of mixing in. With the left overs mix the sauce into the pasta. A great recipe !!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Owen June 05, 2004

Oh my, oh my, was this good. The rich and creamy sauce combined with the crab flavor was excellent. I doubled the recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly. The swiss cheese is really the key, adding a nice subtle nuance to the flavor along with some texture to the sauce. This is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 September 24, 2002

I don't know if this is a true review, because I changed a few items. I thought it would be too rich, so I just used 2% milk rather than the cream. I also used a combo or mozz. and cheddar cheese. When I sauteed the garlic, I was trying to clean out my fridge, so I added regular onion, green pepper, and minced olives. I then mixed the sauce and pasta all together and baked it. I also tossed in a dash or two of cajun seasoning. We all thought it was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife August 11, 2009

This was very quick and easy to make. I doubled the recipe. This got mixed reviews at our house. Hubby and I liked it but the kids didn't at all. Even though we liked it we thought it was very rich. I followed the recipe except that I didn't have cream so I used milk. I also didn't add the green onions. I thought the sauce was too thick so I added another 1/2 cup of milk. This thinned it out nicely. I didn't have a tomato so I used a can of petite diced tomatoes. We thought it had a good taste- it was something different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol September 12, 2008

I thought this was good, but my kids didn't care for it. I think it may have been too rich for them. I will make this again for hubby and I when g'ma has the kids. I really enjoyed the flavors and the creaminess of it. Thank you for posting....Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 27, 2008

pretty good, it was missing something but I'm not sure what it was. It has a very mild flavor, I like things a little more exciting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
design*girl October 06, 2007

This was very tasty. The store was out of imitation crab so I used shrimp instead and light cream instead of whipping cream since that was all I had. Served with a nice salad...great meal !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Philamom July 07, 2007

Naner, this is excellent!! I have never used the imitation crab before and decided to try this as DH said he was in the mood for pasta. The only thing I did different was to up the garlic (I just can't help myself) to three cloves. This was quick and easy to prepare and we both loved it. I used 1lb. crab and it made a ton, but do you think I got any leftovers? I assume it reheated fine because it was gone by dinner the next day! this definitely goes in the "keeper" file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chinasmom2000 June 26, 2007
Crab Linguine