14 Reviews

Yummy! I used purple cabbage, red bell pepper and raspberry wine vinegar... I didn't use the full pound of crab but it was just great! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msmia May 29, 2011

This was very good! I used carrots instead of celery (didn't have any)... and added dried dill weed and old bay seasoning. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty February 05, 2010

This is interesting! This recipe is the creation of Justin Wilson, that grand old Southern humorist and chef! The only alteration from the original? Here, there is the almost heretical option of using KRAB! Let's give honest credit where credit is due! I've used his receipt for years . . . perhaps as many as 15, having watched him make this delightful dish on his old PBS TV series, Louisiana Home Grown.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
revrdcarr September 10, 2009

Delicious! We ate this as a light lunch with some rye crisp crackers. I did take the advice of other reviewers and add some sugar to cut the sharpness of the vinegar. I also added some dillweed which was an inspired idea taken from Marsha. The husband even asked if I would make this again and he is not the biggest seafood lover. I used a package of preshredded slaw with carrots for quick preparation and used imitaion crab chunks which I shredded. This will definitely be repeated!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. May 31, 2009

We actually really liked this recipe. It was light but also filling for a summer dinner. I didn't change a thing and would make it exactly the same way next time! Thanks for the great recipe Mercy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender May 31, 2008

We really liked this salad. I made a couple of substitutions out of necessity; I used a cup of carrots instead of bell pepper, and I used only 12 oz. of imitation crab. The slaw is light, but also pretty filling. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie May 27, 2008

Came out quite well. I used half the oil, and lemon juice instead of vinegar. I didn't have any tabasco, and I used Old Bay Seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chieromancer March 02, 2008

This is a good recipe for a hot summer day, either lunch or dinner. I did not have any bell peppers, and I used low-cal mayo to further reduce the calories, and it was very good. Thanks for a good recipe, Mercy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi June 02, 2006

This was a hit...but I did decide to add sugar...as the dressing would have been way too tart...otherwise...it was a hit...I got complaints about not having any left overs...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
philcraine March 21, 2006

Great slaw. I used the packaged slaw mix and added celery, dill, 1 packet of Splenda and a diced jalapeno. I cut back on the oil, vinegar and mayo. Mades a great lunch or light supper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH July 08, 2005
Crab Cole Slaw