Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crab Cole Slaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crab Cole Slaw

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2011

      Yummy! I used purple cabbage, red bell pepper and raspberry wine vinegar... I didn't use the full pound of crab but it was just great! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This was very good! I used carrots instead of celery (didn't have any)... and added dried dill weed and old bay seasoning. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This is interesting! This recipe is the creation of Justin Wilson, that grand old Southern humorist and chef! The only alteration from the original? Here, there is the almost heretical option of using KRAB! Let's give honest credit where credit is due! I've used his receipt for years . . . perhaps as many as 15, having watched him make this delightful dish on his old PBS TV series, Louisiana Home Grown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Delicious! We ate this as a light lunch with some rye crisp crackers. I did take the advice of other reviewers and add some sugar to cut the sharpness of the vinegar. I also added some dillweed which was an inspired idea taken from Marsha. The husband even asked if I would make this again and he is not the biggest seafood lover. I used a package of preshredded slaw with carrots for quick preparation and used imitaion crab chunks which I shredded. This will definitely be repeated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      We actually really liked this recipe. It was light but also filling for a summer dinner. I didn't change a thing and would make it exactly the same way next time! Thanks for the great recipe Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      We really liked this salad. I made a couple of substitutions out of necessity; I used a cup of carrots instead of bell pepper, and I used only 12 oz. of imitation crab. The slaw is light, but also pretty filling. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Came out quite well. I used half the oil, and lemon juice instead of vinegar. I didn't have any tabasco, and I used Old Bay Seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      This is a good recipe for a hot summer day, either lunch or dinner. I did not have any bell peppers, and I used low-cal mayo to further reduce the calories, and it was very good. Thanks for a good recipe, Mercy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      This was a hit...but I did decide to add sugar...as the dressing would have been way too tart...otherwise...it was a hit...I got complaints about not having any left overs...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      Great slaw. I used the packaged slaw mix and added celery, dill, 1 packet of Splenda and a diced jalapeno. I cut back on the oil, vinegar and mayo. Mades a great lunch or light supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      Absolutely the best slaw I have ever had! I did add a few things though. I added 1tsp sugar, 1/2tsp dill weed,dash of each Old Bay Seasoning and Beau Monde,1/2c chopped celery and I cut the wine vinegar down a bit (personal preference) I also used a red onion to give it a more colorful look. I made this ahead of time so that all the flavors can blend til supper. I may sneak and have a small bowl before. LOL Thanks for sharing this great slaw. I am most sure it will be a favorite from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      WOW! I ate this alone, no tortilla and I just loved it. My pepper was orange. Used krab (fake stuff) and added a package of Splenda to cut the vinegar a bit. Next time I will add even more cayenne or a freash chili to meet my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      I liked this a lot. I also used a packaged coleslaw mix. I cut back a bit on the oil, vinegar and mayo, and I added a finely chopped jalapeno pepper. This is supposed to be my lunch for tomorrow, but I can't seem to stop nibbling now! Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      This was an easy fix for a quick lunch. I served it wrapped in a flour tortilla. I used a packaged coleslaw mix, fresh crab, and omitted the green pepper. The flavor was good, but seemed to be missing something. Perhaps the pepper would have made all the difference, but I think that some fresh cilantro would have really made the recipe pop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crab Cole Slaw

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.5
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    49%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 729.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes