44 Reviews

This is almost my exact recipe. I only use onion or scallion. Franks' Hot Sauce not Tabasco and the main difference is I add horseradish. Not much. Maybe a small teaspoon full. Try it. You'll say, oh my goodness this are good. What is that flavor?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shadowgirl... December 30, 2010

Just what I was looking for. Easy and great, showcasing the crab. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bowedbookshelf August 14, 2013

I made these for my parent's visit and my folks really enjoyed these! Based on the reviews (thanks!) I made the following changes. Rinsed my 'canned' crab meat from costco. Used only 1/2 of the old bay and NO salt. A smidge less on the worstershire and the tabasco. Dredged the cakes in flour and fried in a combo of butter and veggie oil. (I know fattening....but were they ever good!) This will be my GOTO recipe. Also made a crab cake remoulade sauce from another posting on this site to accompany them..... YUUUUMMMM. UPDATE: I make these ALL the time. Usually dredge in flour or more breadcrumbs and then fry in oil. This time - trying to watch calories, fried them in 1 tbl EVOO for 4 min a side, and the cakes got nice and browned. No need to add more calories or fry in lots of oil / butter. From now on - only going to fry them in 1 tbl total on non stick pan - heat at medium for 4 min/side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 February 11, 2013

Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ May 02, 2011

We made these today and were thrilled with the results. Used canned crab & added horseradish to the mix. broiled them 6-8 mins on each side. Served with a salad , it made a good quick meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agnice9_5952464 February 06, 2011

This is the first time I post a rating for a recipe. My whole family loved the crabcakes!! The only changes I made were as follows:
- we don't care for celery (too overpowering in any dish), so I substituted for alfalfa sprouts
- I served the crab cakes with a mixture of mayonnaise and chipotle chiles (authentic from Mexico), got rave reviews!!
- Substituted bread crumbs for panko and dry mustard for "old style mustard" (the one with the mustard seeds in it).
- I didn't have any "bay seasoning" or whatever that thing the recipe called for, but substituted it for a mix of several spices: garlic, thyme, oregano, pepper, paprika.
I used the Costco lump blue crab !! and I had no issue at all with the saltiness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Kitty December 26, 2010

Thank you for this recipe! I loved broiling--it was the first time I'd ever made crab cakes without setting off the smoke alarm. (I DON"T fry.) I enjoyed all the fresh ingredients. My husband even ate the leftovers, so it must have been good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucky ladybug December 13, 2010

I halved the recipe and made 9 mini crab cakes.
My husband really like these, but I personally found them too salty. I thought the other seasonings might have been enough with just a dash of salt. I would make them again, just reducing the amount of salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Stewart November 08, 2010

we didnt care for these. I was disappointed as I had fresh crab, i thought i would use some for these, but they didnt turn out. The seasonings were too overpowering and we couldnt taste the sweet and delicate crab meat. I think this recipe is better suited for tuna or salmon croquets and not crab.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathyinhawaii May 30, 2010

We didn't find this to be too salty at all! We followed the recipe exactly and served it with the Remoulade from Remoulade Sauce. It was FANTASTIC! I think the key is using real lump crab. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NutterButter October 17, 2009
Crab Cakes