13 Reviews

My family ate this twice in one week because we loved it so much! I doubled the recipe plus an extra 8 oz of crab, added 4oz. of Neufchatel Cream Cheese, and a 4oz block of cheddar (shredded). Also, I liked it better when I just pureed 2 cans of corn in my food processor (never liked creamed corn). Also, I sprinkled in some Old Bay to kick it up a notch. My 18 month old even loved it (minus the Old Bay).

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellemo87 October 14, 2010

Quick and easy, I used half milk and half and half fo a more creamy taste also added in some cayenne pepper, thanks for sharing Brooke my DH enjoyed this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz July 21, 2008

This was not awesome but alright. I added Old Bay seasoning as someone else had suggested. I used mock crab and 2% milk since that's what I had on hand. It was very easy and quick so I will probably make this again in a pinch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueDogLady March 01, 2012

I used 2 cans of crab meat instead of the imitation crab, because it was less expensive and I don't really like the flavor of fake crab. Other than that the recipe was great, quick and easy. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rollersgirl February 11, 2010

Quick and yummy! I also added a can of lump crab meat. I think I'll add the liquid next time - the crab flavor just didn't come through strongly enough for me. This was very simple and I'll make again! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4- Chic Chefs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan July 06, 2008

This was a grand lunch today. So easy and yummy. I'm not a lover of creamed corn but DH loves it and I had some in the house. I thought that it might just work and it really did!. I used 1 cup of skim milk to keep it on the thicker side but that is just personal choice. There is lots of flavor and texture. Made for Photo Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 22, 2008

LOVED IT! Wow, Brooke, what a great recipe! It made a delicious quick lunch. I used celery soup rather than potato, just personal preference. The creamed corn and crab add a sweet touch. I used real crab rather than imitation and added a bit of parsley too. Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup November 15, 2014

This was good and very easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used 2% milk as that is what I buy. As another reviewer noted, I think this would be even better with real crab meat. This made for an easy, quick lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 03, 2009

This was very quick and easy, but you could really tell it was imitation crab meat. I could not get my initial mix heated after 15 minutes on low heat...had to turn it up a bit. It took more like 20 to 25 minutes on low. And if I try it again, I'll try it with real crab meat. I think it could be a great 5 star quick soup, but not without real crab meat. Made for Zaar Stars Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 21, 2008

Actually a powzowee delicious soup that won't disappoint and you will be more then happy you selected this to prepare and devour. So easy, as simple as 1,2,3. I used fresh handpicked Maryland Blue Crab meat and some fresh potatoes and corn. I didn't have potato soup, so I used "Creamed of Shrimp" soup, and added cooked potatoes and corn to the soup and heated this slowly. I also used skim milk, and added the crabmeat carefully at the end just to warm it a bit. This is really an *ace* recipe. Has all the components to make this for company or just for yourself. I added some ground *white* pepper just to keep the pale color and let the crab and corn stand out. Will make this often as this really is a recipe to keep in your collection for all the reasons mentioned in this review. Thanks Brooke! Made for *SSC Pet Parade* July 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 15, 2008
Crab Bisque in 20 Minutes