15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Looks like I may be the only one who isn't blown away by this recipe. I tried it because it looked simple. Indeed, the end result did not quite taste like the crab bisque I usually have in restaurants. The only thing that made it taste like crab bisque was the sherry. I feel that it lacks something but still have not quite found out what it is lacking. I won't be trying this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iceprincesskat March 19, 2012

This is excellently flavored! It was a great appetizer to a special dinner I prepared for company. I too added in some potatoes just because. Rich and delicious and loaded with crab!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme June 17, 2010

So yummy! I make this all the time but i lighten it up a bit. I use Fat free milk, fat free half and half, and 2% sharp cheddar and it comes out amazing! I also added a potato to make it more" chowder-like". But over all Awesome recipe! Company loves it too!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emoburger February 12, 2010

Great bisque!!! My wife is lactose intolerant so I made some adjustments and added a couple goodies to fill in the sauce. I used 1.5c milk, 2.5c chicken broth and omitted the whipping cream and sherry. I sauteed 1/2c fine chopped onions in the butter, added 1c cooked, diced potatos (red) and 1c white corn to the finished sauce. There were no complaints or leftovers! What a treat!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
959262 November 05, 2009

Absolutely stellar. Added 1 1/2 T. Essence and omitted lemon pepper. Made the entire soup, minus crabmeat, the day before. All I had to do was add crab and heat. Decadent and marvelous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeJohnJP December 25, 2008

Yum! Made it tonight for dinner, and we LOVED it! I used fat free, evaporated milk, instead of whipping cream (as another reviewer suggested), as the soup was still creamy, hearty and delicious. I had no parsley, so I omitted it. I used Old Bay seasoning, lemon pepper, and salt to season, but felt something was missing so I added a good tablespoon or two, of Emerils original seasoning. That did the trick. If you don't have Emeril's, I think a good spice mix of garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, paprika and extra salt will give it an extra kick that puts it over the top. I served it hot with some extra shredded cheddar over the top. I will definitely be making this to impress at my next dinner party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwenn August 04, 2008

I made this last night before going to work and put it in the crock pot to keep warm, When I got home at 1 AM my husband and son were still talking about it!! I used pasturized crab by Phillips in a can, and didn't have sherry or lemon pepper but they didn't seem to mind a bit! Thanks for sharing a great bisque recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwiwife June 19, 2008

The perfect soup. My whole family loved it. I had to triple the batch the second time I made it so people could have more. When I serve it I sprinkle just a little bit more cheese on the top with the parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dixiechick540 January 29, 2008

This tasty, creamy soup made for a decadent first meal of the new year. Excellent recipe! This is one of our new favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seph January 03, 2008

My family loved this soup! I didn't have sherry, so I omitted it, and I substituted fat-free evaporated milk for the whipping cream. I used Eatzi's seafood rub for the seasoning. The result was very smooth and creamy, with a slightly sweet undertone. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
librariangirl January 01, 2008
Crab Bisque Chincoteague