15 Reviews

A good start, but it needs more seasoning, in my opinion. I added salt and pepper, lemon juice, red pepper flakes, garlic powder and onion powder.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Falck October 18, 2010

I enjoy artichoke dips and crab dips and spinach dips, so I thought this recipe would be perfect for me. However, I was disappointed. It lacked the tanginess of a typical artichoke dip and the full flavor of a crab dip. I served it at a party, and I could tell it wasn't really a hit. Maybe had I added extra cheese, as one reviewer suggested, it would have increased the flavor factor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki #4 March 08, 2009

I love this. I make one very similiar to this recipe...without all of the cream and half & half (restaurant style). You can add a tsp of 1/2 tsp of Garlic Powder and 1/2 tsp of Onion Powder for extra taste, and cayenne is you want some zip. Another great variation is to bake this for 15-20 minutes and broil it another 3 minutes with some additional cheese sprinkled on top. You get a nice color. Sorry for all the changes. I actually made this exactly the way it was written to see if it stands up this simply...and it does. Kudos to you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Rock & Roll BBQ Chef January 31, 2007

YUMMY! I couldnt decide what type of dip to make but you cant go wrong with crab, artichoke and spinach (all three in one!). Made this for a reunion and it was a hit. I fogot to turn the crockpot on though but for the record you can microwave the dip for 3 min, stir well and put back in the crockpot for 30 min to be ready on time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara July 18, 2005

Everyone RAVED about this at my son's birthday party. I had to improvise since I set DH to the store for the ingredients. He bought whole frozen spinach and frozen artichoke hearts instead of canned. Since I had to chopped everything else in the food processor I put the crab in there too and chopped it rather small and the flavor just burst in your mouth. I also put extra cheese in it (we all love cheese) and used the scoop tortilla chips, made it much easier for scooping. Thank you sooooo much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funandsweet623 March 07, 2009

Made this with real crab and topped with a bit more parmesan cheese. Baked in oven at 325 degrees for 1 hour then broiled for 5 minutes on low to brown top.. Was a huge hit at superbowl party.. Everyone was disappointed when it was gone.. Awesome recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
usamfamily February 02, 2009

Loved this! I made it as directed x2. It was a big hit at our Thanksgiving family potluck and my husband's aunt said it's my job to bring this every year from now on. Also, this gets better and better the longer it's in the crockpot. This is one of my favorite dips ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristiD December 18, 2008

I made this exactly as directed (X2) and my guests loved it. At least the two teenage nieces did. I had one taste and hated it. The imitation crab's texture felt like rubber and I just wanted to spit it out. Next time and there will be a next time, it's real crab meat. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst March 21, 2008

Yummy rich delicious version of this dip! It's great the way it is, but I added more artichokes and parmesan (love them) the second time and won over a couple of serious foodies. Thank-you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueDiva November 14, 2007
Crab Artichoke and Spinach Dip