15 Reviews

5 stars for the phrase 'more beer' in the directions o/

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff #631750 March 01, 2008

This is the BEST recipe I have ever had!! And I love chili! I made this for my family's Christmas celebration the day before I served it. It was fantastic! I followed the recipe to a "T" I doubled the recipe which made a TON and it was almost all gone! There were 4 other chilis and 3 soups there too! The next day we ate leftovers and again it was even better than the day before! I am making this for my annual superbowl chili cookoff party and I know I will win. It was so good! I am going to make it on Firday and keep it in my fridge until Sunday. Best chili!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eslavin123 January 28, 2013

Just won 1st Place at a neighborhood Chili Cookoff with this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly. The texture was great with the steak/bacon/chorizo. Added the optional can of corn and used "Newcastle Brown Ale" for the beer. This is a little labor intensive but well worth it. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy.....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K&C83 January 26, 2013

the only chili recipe i make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cecily P. January 26, 2016

Best Chili I have ever made. My husband who normally doesn't like chili had 4 bowls in one sitting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JAIME B. January 12, 2016

Fabulous! I had cooked tenderloin left over from Christmas and wanted to find a chili recipe worthy of it. I rolled it in the rub and then used crumbled bacon (not the grease though) and ground pork. Followed directions just added the tenderloin later in the cooking. In dutch oven at 350 was perfect in about 2 hours. I am looking forward to making it again and trying it in the slow cooker mode.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobs December 31, 2014

It's a shame that 5 stars is the maximum you can rate this recipe. This his the best chili recipe I have ever made. I have mad this with steak, javalina, bear and venison, all of which turned out perfectly. This is a great recipe to take care of the gaminess of game meat as noted above.<br/><br/>I like to add just a little tiny bit more heat by adding different levels peppers, which will balance the fire in the mouth... I add 1 serrano, 1 jalapeno and 1 habanero all finely diced, removing the pith and seeds of each. Skip these if you're a tourista... lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lowens37 December 14, 2014

This was my first slow cooker chili. I made the serving size for 8-10 and two of us ate all but three serving! Only things I slightly did different is I used light and dark red kidney beans, medium coffee (my favorite kind) and I also used a golden ale. I put the corn in my chili, and I used tri color peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeganIrene87 November 26, 2012

Outstanding! Just the right amount of heat for me, but serranos would blend in very well with the smoky flavor. I had a chili con Carne recipe that has been a favorite for years, but this is my new favorite. Frying up the sirloin in bacon drippings with that cowboy seasoning blend, you just know you can't miss.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IvoryToad November 22, 2011
Cowboy Steak Chili in a Crock Pot