Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cowboy Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2014

      Updated: need stars - Pretty good!!!! Don't usually like cheese in my potatoes but there are so many other elements in it, don't really take it. Along with the garlic. I used like 8 or 9 bulbs. It does have a zip from the jalapeno. I took out the seeds so my daughter will eat it. I added a little milk so I could whip the potaotes. Don't like just mashed with chunks. Also some season salt. My husband is grilling pork chops tonight so I made this to go along as a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      We have been making these for a few years now. I wish that everyone who passes over this recipe would try it just once! We adjust the ingredients by what we have on hand or just to our taste. Stirred in crumbled fried bacon, a little sour cream and the frozen mixed corn with peppers. Always add more garlic. Goes great with meatloaf or Oven Fried Pork Chops and Gravy from this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2014

      We were surprised at how much we liked these, especially when DD and I aren't huge fans of cooked carrots and corn. I used a whole head of garlic. Next time I will double both the jalapeno and the garlic to give them a little more zip. Served as a side to Jalapeno cheddar stuffed chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Had these with our Christmas dinner and they are great. I've a feeling this will be the potatoe recipe this family is going to demand from now on. I did have to make a few minor changes based on what I had available; used Idaho potatoes and no red ones - I did add one sweet potatoe to the mix as had an extra on hand. Used can white corn (couldn't find frozen) and then followed the directions and it was awesome. Fairly simple to make and the flavors blended together without any one over-powering the other. You are right the jalapeno was NOT hot, just great flavor. This is a terrific recipe that everyone should try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This has become a regularly requested dish at our house. Sometimes we use hot cherry pepper or canned jalapenos rather than fresh. It tastes good with any kind of potato - we have successfully tried blending in some sweet potato. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      These were an incredible addition to our Christmas dinner. Everyone loved the addition of the corn and carrots- and the jalapeno did not add heat but a really great subtle under-note of flavor that was so nice. What an awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing, meltedcountry- we will ABSOLUTELY be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      These potatoes were terrific!! I halved the recipe but still used a whole jalapeno and really enjoyed the extra flavor it gave. We loved these and I will definitely be making them often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I didn't make it exactly as the recipe. I only used one type of potatoes and no jalepenos. However, just the general concept of mashing additional vegies into the mashed potatoes is great. One tip...make sure that your potatoes are cut small enough to cook in the same time as the baby carrots. Also, if you have one of those hand blenders, it works great for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Oh, this was good! We served it with grilled steak one night and the leftovers with grilled chicken the next night. I made 1/2 recipe, which turned out beautifully, and used 1/2 a jalapeno. Meltedcountry is right: you could use more jalapenos as the 1/2 was not at all hot. Next time I may double or triple the jalapeno. This is a great recipe for everyday and to impress company. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This was delicious. I used regular russet potatoes instead of the red and yukon gold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      My entire family lived this recipe. Great way to get those veggies in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      Giddyup! These are great mashed tators! The jalapeno really doesn't make it too hot....my kids could handle it just fine. I added a little milk to moisten them a bit more. The whole family enjoyed the "orange mashed potatoes with corn". Thanx for sharing this one; I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cowboy Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.7
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    34%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 18.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 119.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites