Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cowboy Coffee Steak Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cowboy Coffee Steak Rub

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2009

      This was just about the best tasting ribeye I've ever made. I used more garlic, and cheated by using the contents of a K-cup coffee pod because I didn't have any beans. The combination of flavors was so unexpected, yet they all worked to give a superb finish to the meat. I'm going to try it with chicken, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This was wonderful!! Great idea to use coffee. We didn't have Old Bay and decided to substitute a Cincinnati chili rub for it. Also bringing the steaks to room temperature made for evenly cooked, juicy meat with that awesome caramelized crust. This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This was good. I marinated a flank steak over night and then put it in homemade tortillas with some grilled red onions. Very good and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      This was amazing! I was looking for a rub that would mimic the coffee cured fillet at Stoney River and I think this is it! I used instant coffee (no grinder) and 1/2 chilli powder 1/2 paprika. I also went easy on the salt. The amount was enough to cover 4 fillets with a little leftover. I pressed the top and bottom as well as the sides into the mixture and let it sit for about 2 hours. Grilled to medium rare and topped with bleu cheese butter. Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Gave this to a friend this weekend and they made it Sat night and loved it. I am making it later this week. I will be using Old Bay or I also have another All Purpose blend I could use. Looking forward to it. But my friend said they loved it. They are not Zaar members but wanted me to pass that along.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Great recipe, I used it on some thick pork chops that I grilled over charcoal. The whole family liked it even my picky 10 year old. I made the recipe as written w/ Old Bay but think it could use a little more zing. Next time I am going to replace the paprika with Arbol chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Used a smoked paprika, and made our own Old Bay Seasoning with a recipe posted on Chow http://www.chow.com/recipes/10591 We really enjoyed this Cowboy coffee steak! Ours was smoky and the white pepper really came though. We'd add a few more coffee beans to the mix next time. Thanks for posting, we really liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Awesome on tri-tip! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Thanks to Pic A Chef S2008 we got a chance to try this very unique rub! I chose to put our rub on one inch steaks which turned out to be an excellant choice. My Dh has already made the rub for the next time we are going to have steak. It just does not get any better than this. Funny our cat, tabatha and our dog, killer went crazy over this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      WOW!!!!! Coffee??? Who would have thought to add coffee to a dry rub?? This is absolutely the best rub I have ever had, and I have had about every steak marinade and rub out there!!! This deserves more than 5 stars!!!! I made this as directed, using the lawry seasoned salt, but didn't have the white peppercorns, so used about 1/4 of the amount suggested with ground black pepper, ground it all together in the coffee grinder, which then made it almost powder form. I sprinkled it on both sides of the steak and only used it sparingly, as I wasn't sure I would like it. Well believe me it was one of the best steaks I have ever had, and will be much more generous with the seasoning from here on out. I will also be sure to add it on for a much longer marinading time. Thank you Chandra for an awesome steak rub, will be used over and over here at our house and is going into my "Will make again Zaar cookbook"!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cowboy Coffee Steak Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (3 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    26%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 872.8 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coffee beans

    white peppercorns

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes