Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cowboy Caviar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cowboy Caviar

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2002

      Ihave tried this and took it to work as many are on some type of diet and it fits their plan too. If you are watching your weight use the WOW tortilla chips! I even liked it alone with no chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      I didn't even need to wait for the 24 hours in the fridge to rate this. Excellent! Oh my goodness it just really has a wonderful taste. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I could eat this as a salad without the chips. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      The sauce is the key!!! We eat this just as a salad.. I use what I have in cupboard for beans, peas, onions and peppers...The longer it sits the better it becomes. I have also sub-ed honey for the sugar and it was just as good.. also used olive oil

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This was awesome! I made the following changes: cannelini (sp?) beans for the pinto beans, black beans for the black eyed peas, and yellow pepper for the green pepper (more color - tastes sweeter). The only change I might make for next time is that I might use a tad bit less sugar. This was a do over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Good with a few tweaks. I use one can of black beans, one can of black-eyed peas, 1/2 of a red onion finely diced (instead of the green onions), scrape 2-3 cobs of fresh corn, finely dice 1 jalapeno pepper and skip the can of peas. For the dressing mixture...I use 1/4 cup of canola oil, 1/8 cup white vinegar, 1/8 cup cider vinegar and 1/4 cup sugar and boil until sugar is dissolved. Then I squeeze in the juice of 1 lime into the mixture and let it cool. When cooled I pour it over the bean mixture, add some salt or pepper if it seems too sweet, dice up 1 container of cherry or grape tomatoes and combine well. Cool it in the fridge overnight. I add this to a salad with chicken, cheese and a hint of Ranch dressing, scoop it up in tortilla chips or just dive in with a spoon with the fridge door open. I have brought a big bowl to work and it is gone before lunchtime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      This is so good and refreshing! I have recently moved and had one of my BF's and her DH over for supper to payback for many meals at her house. I served this as a side dish along with grilled chicken tenders, UC86 BLT salad and Marg's Herb and Cheese Biscuit Bites. They raved over it and took the recipe with them. They have a home on the river and plan to serve at their family gatherings. It was so easy to make and the veggies were crisp and flavorful. A great summer dish or all year long. Thanks Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      A long over due review for this easy to make combination that makes a great appetizer - and a wonderful salad side. Tried but didn't manage to find the shoepeg corn, subbed with Peaches and Cream corn niblets which worked very well for me. Served with Tacos and scoopers, have made and served this as an added side as well. We love bean and corn salads and this one makes for a great addition to my family favorites cookbook. Thank you for another Merlot winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      Made this subbing with canned peaches and cream corn niblets, black beans and adding a touch of garlic and jalepeno pepper. This went very well along side of some freshly toasted garlic salted pita chips. Thanks for a nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      Well, yipee,yiyo,kiya!! isn't this just a wonderful little number...I whipped up a large batch of this wonderful dip for my party tomorrow. I have no idea as too what shoepeg corn is, so I just used regular corn niblets, used black beans in place of the black-eyed peas, also I added some fresh garlic to the mixture and used some olive oil with some Canola oil, and subbed regular white onions for the green onions. I'll be serving it with an assortment of chips...what a winner this is, thanks Merlot for sharing!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2004

      I made this recipe to take camping and was it ever a hit!!! Everyone wanted the recipe so I of course told them where to look!!! I used black beans instead of black eyed peas. I also added some fresh garlic to the sugar mixture as it was cooking. I was brainstorming different ways of using this with my brother-in-law and we thought adding this to grilled lime/cilatro chicken and wrapping it up would be very tasty indeed. Thank you for posting this recipe. I will be making this one a lot I am sure. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      Beautiful! Of course I changed it about a bit. I can not abide Black eyed Peas! (I love every other legume but not these!) I subbed Black Beans. I added 2 fresh, seeded, de-vained Jalapenos to the vegetables and 1 teaspoon of Mexican Oregano to the sauce before cooking. The Thursday night game, 4 poker chumps, who can't keep their mind on the game while eating this with warm corn tortilla chips and drinking cold Mexican Pilsner. My conscience doesn't bother me one bit. 'Paraiso' could hardly be better. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2004

      Giddy-Up!!!!! We thought this was just fantastic. DH doesn't care for beans too much, but he should did scoff this up. The ingredients seem to meld so well together, giving it the perfect flavor. I like Mercy's idea of using as a tortilla filling....I can almost taste this with some tuna wrapped in a tortilla, oh yummy!!! Thanks Merlot...this is sure to be made often. I also like that it's healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      I absolutely love this healthy and versatile recipe! My favorite twist is the addition of the tiny sweet peas! We used this as a dip, as a salad and as a tortilla wrap filling with leftovers (beef/chicken/tuna). I had to omit the raw onions but I added a little onion powder in its place, I didn't have any bell peppers on hand so I used jarred roasted red peppers and I used some cannellini beans instead of the pinto beans. Thank you, Merlot, this recipe is outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cowboy Caviar

    Serving Size: 1 (2104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.7
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    24%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 142.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes