12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very similar to my recipe... I use Black Eyed Peas instead of the black beans, and add some cilantro too. I am given out my recipe many times, but am still not allowed to go to parties without it... People love it that much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruby Toozday December 05, 2011

Nice change from salsa for sure. I also made it up ahead of time, adding the avocado just before serving. People really enjoyed this at a BBQ we had. I felt the flavour was a little heavy on the vinegar side, needed a little something extra so I added some mexican chili powder and think lime would have been a great idea - will do that next time. Thanks for introducing me to "Cowboy Caviar"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 17, 2010

DH made this for our 4th bar-b-q and everyone loved it. Quite a change from our usual tomatoe and onion salsa. We followed some of the other reviewers and added lime, jalepenos, garlic and cilantro and served it with scooper fritos. Didn't have white corn so just used regular yellow with no problem. Loved the avacodoes in it. It made a lot so great for a big gathering, tasted even better the next day after all the flavors had a chance to mingle. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 05, 2009

I made this for a family cookout and my family loved it. My brother-in-law said it was his new favorite thing! I added one extra clove of garlic and added some fresh lime juice. We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmcanter June 08, 2009

Wow! This is so good. It was gobbled up so fast! Everyone loved it. I added some chopped cilantro and squeezed 1/2 lime on it. It was so yummy! I can't wait to make this again and would definately double the recipe if it is for a crowd. We had 5 adults here and it was gone in 10 minutes. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilAnn December 29, 2008

Refreshing on a hot summer day. The changes I made were to add extra garlic & a home grown jalapeno for some heat. I also didn't have any canned corn, so I used thawed frozen corn. I like the texture of frozen vs. canned corn better in general. I mixed the beans and corn with the dressing the day before and let it sit to soak up the flavors, then the next day added the rest of the ingredients. I served with tortilla chips. Will enjoy this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 July 21, 2008

This is wonderful; i always get asked for the recipe. It makes a lot, too. I had about a 1/4 cup of finely chopped cilantro to it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imdaveswife July 03, 2008

I had "cowboy caviar" at a party years ago and was looking for a recipe - this one is great! I served it at a recent get-together and everyone loved it, especially the guys. I just added a little bit of cilantro. And it's definitely good to let it sit (in the fridge overnight perhaps) to let the flavors set. Excellent recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gloria ellen April 29, 2008

I served this at a party and won rave reviews! I have shared this recipe with a lot of people. Make it an hour ahead of serving so the flavors blend. It is a huge hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen C August 13, 2007

I've never served a dip or salsa that absolutely everyone raves about - not to mention that it is pretty healthy!! I've passed on the recipe to everyone Definitely recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skimore51 November 28, 2006
Cowboy Caviar