Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cowboy Caviar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cowboy Caviar

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2011

      This is very similar to my recipe... I use Black Eyed Peas instead of the black beans, and add some cilantro too. I am given out my recipe many times, but am still not allowed to go to parties without it... People love it that much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Nice change from salsa for sure. I also made it up ahead of time, adding the avocado just before serving. People really enjoyed this at a BBQ we had. I felt the flavour was a little heavy on the vinegar side, needed a little something extra so I added some mexican chili powder and think lime would have been a great idea - will do that next time. Thanks for introducing me to "Cowboy Caviar"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      DH made this for our 4th bar-b-q and everyone loved it. Quite a change from our usual tomatoe and onion salsa. We followed some of the other reviewers and added lime, jalepenos, garlic and cilantro and served it with scooper fritos. Didn't have white corn so just used regular yellow with no problem. Loved the avacodoes in it. It made a lot so great for a big gathering, tasted even better the next day after all the flavors had a chance to mingle. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I made this for a family cookout and my family loved it. My brother-in-law said it was his new favorite thing! I added one extra clove of garlic and added some fresh lime juice. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Wow! This is so good. It was gobbled up so fast! Everyone loved it. I added some chopped cilantro and squeezed 1/2 lime on it. It was so yummy! I can't wait to make this again and would definately double the recipe if it is for a crowd. We had 5 adults here and it was gone in 10 minutes. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Refreshing on a hot summer day. The changes I made were to add extra garlic & a home grown jalapeno for some heat. I also didn't have any canned corn, so I used thawed frozen corn. I like the texture of frozen vs. canned corn better in general. I mixed the beans and corn with the dressing the day before and let it sit to soak up the flavors, then the next day added the rest of the ingredients. I served with tortilla chips. Will enjoy this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      This is wonderful; i always get asked for the recipe. It makes a lot, too. I had about a 1/4 cup of finely chopped cilantro to it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      I had "cowboy caviar" at a party years ago and was looking for a recipe - this one is great! I served it at a recent get-together and everyone loved it, especially the guys. I just added a little bit of cilantro. And it's definitely good to let it sit (in the fridge overnight perhaps) to let the flavors set. Excellent recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I served this at a party and won rave reviews! I have shared this recipe with a lot of people. Make it an hour ahead of serving so the flavors blend. It is a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      I've never served a dip or salsa that absolutely everyone raves about - not to mention that it is pretty healthy!! I've passed on the recipe to everyone Definitely recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

    • on September 17, 2006

      This great. At least I could eat it with out the normal hot sauce in quantitys that burn the house down when you eat it as per the recipe. I realy liked it with just a touch of hot sauce in it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cowboy Caviar

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.2
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    55%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 227.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes