Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cowboy Candy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cowboy Candy

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2013

      I'm not rating this particular recipe because I haven't tried it. I also bought a jar at a craft show and loved it with cream cheese and crackers. When I try this recipe, I will review it. Thanks PanNan for your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Our peppers are really hot so next time we will remove the seeds to mild it, but the recipe is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      Yess. Fabulous stuff! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      HOLY MOMMA OF HOT STUFF!

      These are awesome bites of full flavored flames! Great recipe!

      I made a trial batch of these to see how they taste and what a treat. Now I've got to go buy some more jalapenos so I can make a BIG batch.

      I'm going to make them to take to a dessert auction were having at church. These will be a hit!

      My mouth is still on fire, but what a great burn!

      Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      These are really good! I think I kind of messed up, I had 4 cups of jalapenos so I tried to adjust the sugar and water, came out kind of too sweet so I just emptied some of the juice out, anyway, sure didn't stop us from eating a bunch. With the cream cheese and Wheat Thins they are delightful!! The old man even liked them! I'm going to do Kitten's burgers this week, looking forward to that. Thanks for a really cool recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      This cowboy candy recipe is an absolute gem! I use these in bread recipes and hamburger recipes, along with eatting them straight out of the jar! Thanks much for this recipe PanNam!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Also had these at a craft fair and did not want to part with 10 bucks if I could make them. I used fresh jalapenos and they were very good. I think you can used canned but they will end up pretty mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This is oh SOOOOOOO good. I made these yesterday and can't stay out of the jar. Who needs cream cheese. I only left the seeds in one pepper and deseeded the others as was not sure how hot but next time will probably half them. For sure I will double or triple the next time around. Thanks for sharing this absolutely delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Delicious little spicy gems! A great way to use up that huge bag of jalapeños from the produce market. Make sure you AT LEAST double the recipe because they cook down to nothing! You'll be sorry if you don't double it. I also added a little kosher salt to mine for that sweet/salty taste. Mmmm... thanks PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Very good! Suggest at least doubling the recipe. I seeded the jalapenos first, and they were still pretty spicy. But of course I was eating them straight out of the pot with no cream cheese to cool them down. Nice to find a recipe that uses fresh jalapenos. Thanks for sharing, Nan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      These are amazing! We had them for dinner on our Kittencal hamburgers (#208583) with guacamole and bacon. OH MY GOSH! That was the best burger I have ever eaten! I loved the slight sweet/hot taste on the burger from this wonderful cowboy candy. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      this recipe is the main reason I plant Jalapenos!! SOOOOOOOO good! Great with snack crackers and cream cheese. Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      WOW!!!! I made one recipe of this today just to see what it tasted like! They are amazing! I had nothing to serve them on except corn chips but they were still great. My DH asked me to make a few more batches for his Christmas party at work tomorrow. I will try cream cheese and ritz crackers as pictured. THank you for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      I'm a wimp, so I didn't try it, I'm rating this according to family's reaction. My only issue was I couldn't get the syrup to thicken. I cooked it forever and finally gave up. It didn't affect the taste according to my husband. I will try it again and see if I can get it to thicken. I would love to give this as gifts. So unique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      These were fabulous! I made them for appetizers for Father's day. Made them the day before so they could chill overnight. I had a bit of difficulty getting the seeds out as somehow I kept cutting up the jalapeno. So I did my best but left some of the seeds in anyway. I wasn't sure how many jalapenos would make 1-1/4 cups so I bought 7. Not nearly enough! Next time make this (soon!) I will probably use 20 as the 7 I made this time were eaten in a heartbeat! And no one thought they were too spicy either! I used the food coloring too and the presentation was beautiful! I served them with Multi-Grain Club Crackers and slices of cheese but some people just ate them with a fork they loved them so much. I would say that 7 jalapenos made about 5 small appetizer servings. Thanks again for another great recipe PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      Dandies they are! I left the seeds in and used the food coloring. Simmering perplexed me a bit as the water never seemed to get syrupy. But it did upon cooling so I guess I did it right. I *assumed* that the peppers would lose some heat with cooking and popped one in my mouth as soon as they cooled. *WRONG* I was scrambling for ice cubes! ;-) Thanks for a fun and tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      We loved these hot little goodies, even though I messed up a bit. :) I simmered too long, as I misjudged how syrupy the sugar-water was getting. I simmered long enough that after they cooled, they were basically sugar-coated jalapenos, and it seems they are supposed to still be in liquid. This didn't bother us, though, as it made them finger food that we could just pop on crackers and into our mouths. :) I left the seeds in and added the optional food coloring, which made the color more attractive. Although I can't imagine them being any better, I'll have to try the recipe again, being a little less zealous with my simmering. :) Thanks for posting, Nan--I always love your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Wow, these are addicting. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Spot on recipe never fails! I first discovered Cowboy Candy in Canada when I was there on holiday. Being from the UK I haven't been able to find any available over here and I was searching for well over a year for the recipe, imagine my delight when I found this one! It's a big hit here now with my friends and I've just made another batch today! THANK YOU !!!! If you haven't tried it, do so, it's AWESOME!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      I buy these frequently but they are expensive. I tried this recipe and they are so good (and easy) I made a whole bunch of jars for Christmas presents. Better than store bought just as they are but I may try adding the onion next time. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cowboy Candy

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 839.2
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    90%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 214.5 g
    71%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 208.8 g
    835%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites