27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is oh SOOOOOOO good. I made these yesterday and can't stay out of the jar. Who needs cream cheese. I only left the seeds in one pepper and deseeded the others as was not sure how hot but next time will probably half them. For sure I will double or triple the next time around. Thanks for sharing this absolutely delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Britt O's sweetie pie September 08, 2008

Delicious little spicy gems! A great way to use up that huge bag of jalapeños from the produce market. Make sure you AT LEAST double the recipe because they cook down to nothing! You'll be sorry if you don't double it. I also added a little kosher salt to mine for that sweet/salty taste. Mmmm... thanks PanNan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge June 22, 2008

Very good! Suggest at least doubling the recipe. I seeded the jalapenos first, and they were still pretty spicy. But of course I was eating them straight out of the pot with no cream cheese to cool them down. Nice to find a recipe that uses fresh jalapenos. Thanks for sharing, Nan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama June 21, 2008

These are amazing! We had them for dinner on our Kittencal hamburgers (#208583) with guacamole and bacon. OH MY GOSH! That was the best burger I have ever eaten! I loved the slight sweet/hot taste on the burger from this wonderful cowboy candy. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mika G. May 17, 2008

Dandies they are! I left the seeds in and used the food coloring. Simmering perplexed me a bit as the water never seemed to get syrupy. But it did upon cooling so I guess I did it right. I *assumed* that the peppers would lose some heat with cooking and popped one in my mouth as soon as they cooled. *WRONG* I was scrambling for ice cubes! ;-) Thanks for a fun and tasty recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie April 10, 2007

Great recipe! I also use some yellow or red bell peppers and a little onion. It looks like there is not enough water but there is. Try not to overcook it because the crispy pepper is better than a soggy one so keep it to a 20 minute cook time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 20, 2015

I'm not rating this particular recipe because I haven't tried it. I also bought a jar at a craft show and loved it with cream cheese and crackers. When I try this recipe, I will review it. Thanks PanNan for your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado August 22, 2013

Our peppers are really hot so next time we will remove the seeds to mild it, but the recipe is great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdyste_571480 August 17, 2013

Yess. Fabulous stuff! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee February 24, 2012

HOLY MOMMA OF HOT STUFF!

These are awesome bites of full flavored flames! Great recipe!

I made a trial batch of these to see how they taste and what a treat. Now I've got to go buy some more jalapenos so I can make a BIG batch.

I'm going to make them to take to a dessert auction were having at church. These will be a hit!

My mouth is still on fire, but what a great burn!

Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piper Lee April 23, 2011
Cowboy Candy