8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A hit in our house! I use parboiled brown rice to make it healthier and it tastes great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pimienta February 24, 2008

Nice flavor. Not too spicy, next time I'll add more chili powder and maybe some jalapenos for heat. I used brown basmati rice and it didn't cook enough, even with extra time. I would pre-cook the rice beforehand. Overall, a great dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Berry November 26, 2008

I really enjoy this meal with some thick cornbread. It is great. Today I realized I only had about 1/2-2/3 the amount of tomato juice that I needed. I just made up the rest with some spaghetti sauce I had in the refrigerator and it tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarayakki May 07, 2008

Just made this and it was awesome. I used fresh pinto beans that I had frozen. Also I didn't have any green chilies so I drained a can of Rotel and added that instead. After I took it out of the oven I topped it with some shredded smoked bacon cheddar. What a delight. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenDaddy November 05, 2006

This was great fare for a hungry crowd that included teenage boys. I did it on the stove top, using medium grain rice. It simmered for about 30 minutes, and I checked every so often to make sure there was enough moisture. Had to add a little more water and tomato juice along the way, but that only increased the flavor! Served with corn muffins and a big green salad -- everyone loved it. I will also try baking it in the oven as specified, but probably not while it's still July and 96 degrees outside! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr July 22, 2005

I'm not a spicy food fan, so I used corn instead of chilies. It was very good, especially with sour cream on top. Very delicious! I easily found an 11.5 ounce can of tomato juice by the V8 section in the supermarket. I'll definately be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wise Rita May 16, 2005

A tasty all-in-one meal, served with a side of corn bread. I also used V8, because it was what I had on hand, and added some garlic like Angie. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrasothere May 16, 2005

Five stars for an easy weeknight supper from scratch! I halved the recipe, fitting it into an 8x8 baking dish; my tomato juice was a 5.5 oz. can of V8 since it was on-hand. I also added a couple small cloves of garlic and kept the chili powder at the same 3/4 tsp. I think since I had less liquid overall, my half recipe cooked perfectly in exactly the first 50 minutes; then I topped it with some sharp cheddar cheese and returned it to the oven to melt the cheese a little. You're right, Chris, my husband had seconds and scarfed up the rest for lunch the next day! Thanks for a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdsGirlAngie December 01, 2004
Cowboy Beans & Rice