Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cousin Jim's Amazing Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cousin Jim's Amazing Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2008

      This pie was delicious. I actually made it twice already. The first time it had WAY too much liquid. I cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/3 of white and it turned out perfect this time. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      I do not know what went wrong, as I followed the directions exactly as written. The pie looked beautiful but the filling did not set. There was liquid going up halfway to the top of the pie plate. So disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      This pie is excellent! I omitted the 1/2 cup of white sugar as I was using apples that are a sweeter than Granny Smith's. I also upped the amount of cinnamon by about 1/2 tsp and omitted the cloves as that is how I prefer my pie. The crust turns out great! I have never had a lot of success with pie crusts but I did this in the food processor (for the first time ever) and it turned out wonderfully light and flaky. My mother and son both love it as well. From now on this is going to be THE recipe I use for pastry and apple pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      This was my first time ever making a pie, on Christmas Eve no less, so needless to say I was scared to death that I'd mess it up! Turned out to be the BEST apple pie I've ever had, and my frinds and family were amazed! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This is the only recipe I use for a great apple pie. The only change I make is adding some lemon zest in the apple mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Like virtually everyone else who's reviewed this recipe, I have to say that it's absolutely the best apple pie I've ever tasted, let alone made! I made it exactly according to the recipe, save for substituting Instant Clear Jel for the flour...as I do in all my pies. What a spectacular recipe! Thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Very yummy!!! Used pre-made dough but the rest was delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Super Easy and AMAZING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I used a store bought crust with this... the filling was terrific though. I did have more than I could fit in the pie pan, I was using the foil pans, and I had 8 apples that were on the small side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      WOW - this was absolutely delicious and deceptively easy to make as well. Even my husband who doesn't like apple pie had some & still asked for a second helping!! 70 minutes was the perfect cooking time, although the crust did not brown as much as I'd hoped, but I'm sure brushing it with some milk or egg next time will do the trick. We had it staight out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream, which was diving, but it was just as delicious when it had cooled down. This is definitely something I would make again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      This is a very good recipe! I am not known for my pie crusts!LOL! This was so easy to work with. Wow, Mr. what else have you got up your sleeve? Many thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      This pie was fantastic! I upped the cinnamon and used cardamom instead of nutmeg. Family wants me to make another pie tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Made this for a Christmas dinner. Delicious! It was a big hit. Was the first pie I ever baked! I made two so I could have one at home. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      This is the best apple pie recipe I have ever used. I have been making the pies for our holiday dinners for the last ten years. I have tried several recipes over the years, and decided to try this one for Thanksgiving. I followed it exactly, but used the pie crust recipe I always use (#82958). This is the best apple pie, my family just loved it. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone looking to impress your guests. Thanks Mr. Mom, this is a definite winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      I will make this again,its very good.I cut back to 1 cup of sugar but next time will use 3/4 of a cup.I used spy apples and it was very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      I made this exactly as the recipe stated. My husband and I both agreed that there was way too much sugar. This was my first attempt at making a pie. Next time I will use less tart apples and not the Granny Smith ones. For me it was too tart and then with the excess sugar ended up being a bit much for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      My daughter cannot handle eggs, milk, soy, or nuts and her birthday was coming up. I found this apple pie recipe, which was free of just about everything (substituted coconut oil for butter). I was nervous at first because I have NEVER made apple pie before but I made this for her bithday party. It was so easy to do and was a smash hit. I am usually not a pie lover but this was amazing! Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      Okay, this was off the hook. I added extra cinnamin, vanilla and used a latice crust. Everyone simply adored this! Delicious and a great presentation. The house also smelled sooooo yummy and thanksgiving-esque!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      great apple pie! the second time i made it, i added 1/2 cup of fresh cranberries which give the pie an interesting sweet and sour taste. i will be using this recipe very often. thanks for sharing mr. mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      This truly is a good pie. Apple is one of my favs. My used to make apple pie all the time and this is ranked right up there with hers !!! Thanks Mr.Mom I shared this with people from work and they want the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cousin Jim's Amazing Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 556.9
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    33%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 326.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 61.3 g
    245%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes