12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious dish for summer. The fresh corn and tomatoes realy make this dish stand out. Just be sure to dress it judiciously... too much dressing is not a good thing (learned that the hard way).

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy K April 25, 2002

Wonderful!! So many delightful tastes blended together, and so many wonderful textures! I also left out the spinach. The next day when dealing with leftovers, as serving I topped the individual platings with some toasted pine nuts and we loved it that way as well! It seemed to add one more dimension to this delicious multi-dimensional dish. Thanks so much for sharing!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady May 26, 2003

What a great way to liven up couscous. The avocados and corn really make the salad. I followed the recipe but left out the spinach. I also cut back on the amount of dressing. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry W. August 19, 2002

I used spinich and red pepper couscous, one box of frozen corn (thawed) and fresh chopped spinich. I made half of the dressing and didn't even use all of that. For the dressing, instead of rice vinegar, I used 1/2 the amount called for, and 1/2 white and 1/2 red balsalmic. This dish was absolutly delicious!!! Although it takes awhile to prepare, it is well worth it. Also, the full recipe could feed an army!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Barrick December 31, 2003

I didn't like the dressing at all. There was way too much sesame oil and I like sesame flavoured things. I would have preferred the salad with a lighter lemon dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC May 19, 2009

This is a lovely salad, and it's very easy to make. I cut the recipe in half, but it still made a HUGE amount of salad (a half-recipe could serve more than six people). Irmgard was right - you do get a lot of extra dressing from the recipe. We've been enjoying it on lettuce salad. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie January 05, 2008

WOW! This was great. I served it to my family and a bunch of guests and quite a few commented that while they don't usually like couscous, this was delicious. I did not have regular sesame oil, and so increased the vegetable oil a bit, and then added a small amount of toasted sesame oil to give it a nice, deep sesame flavor. Like other reviewers, I noticed that it made a lot of salad. I ended up roughly halving the recipe, and we had enough for two large meals of about 10 people each. (Ok, my non-salad-eating kids were part of that crowd, but still...) I left out the spinach altogether, and used frozen organic corn, tossed in while still frozen. It was still great. This one is definitely a keeper! Thanks Irmgard!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Chana May 24, 2007

I really enjoyed this salad, of course it is always better when someone else cooks, and in this case I was lucky enough to have the Chef Herself make it! A very different salad with a terrific dressing. Thanks Irmgard!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ May 21, 2007

The only time that I'd had coucous salad was compliments of a neighbour who brought it to one of my pool parties - I hated it! When Irmgard brought this one to a potluck BBQ, good manners meant that I give it a try. I tried a very small portion but I went back for seconds. It was so good that I'm going to make it for my mother's 85th birthday party. Thanx Irmgard & Mean Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady May 21, 2007

This was something different in my usual routine. I've never made couscous before and think I picked a real winner of a recipe for the first try. A unique and delicious mixture of flavors and texture, not to mention pretty presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine September 28, 2005
Couscous Salad With Fresh Corn