Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Couscous Corn and Black Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Couscous Corn and Black Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2013

      We enjoyed this. I used parsley instead of cilantro but I didn't think it added much to the dish. I will be sure to try cilantro next time. I also left out the tomatoes which in hindsight took some of the flavor away from the salad, so I will add some next time. I decreased the oil to 1/4 cup, doubled the lime juice, and added 1 tsp. of cumin. There were no leftovers! I will make again--thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      I have made a different version of this before, but not for a few years and it seems that author changed the recipe since! This is very close to the original one I had liked. I used a T or so dried cilantro which worked great (I don't love cilantro and this seemed more subtle). I also added about 1/4 C parmesan cheese...sounds odd, but I had tried it before to give just a little more flavor and liked it. Served with tequila lime chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      We really liked this. It was a little bland, but I added a diced avocado and that was a good addition. Good leftovers. Great for cookouts and hot summer days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Very wholesome! I made the following changes: added yellow peppers, a can of chickpeas, 1/2 tsp chilli powder, and 1 tsp cumin powder; also put in more garlic, more pepper, and more lime juice. Will make again, but with less couscous and more veggies as we plan to eat this as a main. Thanks for recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Great! Definitely 5+ stars! Lime juice gave it zing, corn gave it sweetness and beans gave it texture. It was so easy, perfect for a hot and humid summer day in NYC. For some reason, BF wanted this warm so we did not refrigerate, which also saved time. The only difference was that we added 1 tablespoon olive oil instead of 1/3 cup because we're not into oily dressings. Would also be good as a main dish with goat cheese on top? Saving to my fast but good and keepers cookbooks:) Loved it! Okay, it made a lot but looking forward to lunch leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This was just okay for me. It does make a BUNCH and would be good for cookouts & bbqs. I added several shakes from a morrocan spice blend as it was quite bland. That helped a bit. As always I used more garlic than called for. :) Made for Daffy Daffodils ZWt4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I liked this too, and it did make a HUGE batch as another reviewer noted. I'll be eating leftovers for lunch for a few days. I made no changes to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      We loved it. I used frozen corn. It's a big recipe. Next time, maybe I'll do half of the recipe. Made for the ZWT 3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      This was awesome! We ate it as a main dish for dinner on a warm night and it was very satisfying. I forgot to pick up some tomatoes at the store this week, so I left those out. I added some carrots and red bell peppers to sneak some more veggies into our dinner. DBF added raisins to his because "couscous is North African and they eat raisins there." I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks Charmie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      YUMMY!!! I have a new love for couscous and will make this often. I made the batch and will take half to my mom since no one in my house will eat it except me. I can see making this often to share with my mom. Made for zwt 07

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      Yum! I made this for Zaar World Tour III, and loved every bite. I used canned corn, and while it was still wonderful, I can imagine that fresh roasted would be even better. It's so fresh. A great simple meal for summertime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      This was okay. I wouldn't say that it was my favorite dish ever, but corn and black beans go well together. Thank you for the experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This was sooooo good! I used chicken broth and frozen corn and it turned out great. I think that fresh roasted corn in the salad would be outstanding - I'll have to try it that way next time I make this and there will be many more times. I brought leftovers for my lunch and my lunchtime compainions were jealous ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Couscous Corn and Black Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.1
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    29%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 106.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites