13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this. I used parsley instead of cilantro but I didn't think it added much to the dish. I will be sure to try cilantro next time. I also left out the tomatoes which in hindsight took some of the flavor away from the salad, so I will add some next time. I decreased the oil to 1/4 cup, doubled the lime juice, and added 1 tsp. of cumin. There were no leftovers! I will make again--thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid October 04, 2013

I have made a different version of this before, but not for a few years and it seems that author changed the recipe since! This is very close to the original one I had liked. I used a T or so dried cilantro which worked great (I don't love cilantro and this seemed more subtle). I also added about 1/4 C parmesan cheese...sounds odd, but I had tried it before to give just a little more flavor and liked it. Served with tequila lime chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely August 31, 2010

We really liked this. It was a little bland, but I added a diced avocado and that was a good addition. Good leftovers. Great for cookouts and hot summer days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist April 18, 2010

Very wholesome! I made the following changes: added yellow peppers, a can of chickpeas, 1/2 tsp chilli powder, and 1 tsp cumin powder; also put in more garlic, more pepper, and more lime juice. Will make again, but with less couscous and more veggies as we plan to eat this as a main. Thanks for recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyIffy August 30, 2009

Great! Definitely 5+ stars! Lime juice gave it zing, corn gave it sweetness and beans gave it texture. It was so easy, perfect for a hot and humid summer day in NYC. For some reason, BF wanted this warm so we did not refrigerate, which also saved time. The only difference was that we added 1 tablespoon olive oil instead of 1/3 cup because we're not into oily dressings. Would also be good as a main dish with goat cheese on top? Saving to my fast but good and keepers cookbooks:) Loved it! Okay, it made a lot but looking forward to lunch leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 29, 2008

This was just okay for me. It does make a BUNCH and would be good for cookouts & bbqs. I added several shakes from a morrocan spice blend as it was quite bland. That helped a bit. As always I used more garlic than called for. :) Made for Daffy Daffodils ZWt4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field June 26, 2008

I liked this too, and it did make a HUGE batch as another reviewer noted. I'll be eating leftovers for lunch for a few days. I made no changes to the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta September 09, 2007

We loved it. I used frozen corn. It's a big recipe. Next time, maybe I'll do half of the recipe. Made for the ZWT 3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 17, 2007

This was awesome! We ate it as a main dish for dinner on a warm night and it was very satisfying. I forgot to pick up some tomatoes at the store this week, so I left those out. I added some carrots and red bell peppers to sneak some more veggies into our dinner. DBF added raisins to his because "couscous is North African and they eat raisins there." I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks Charmie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksduffster June 16, 2007

YUMMY!!! I have a new love for couscous and will make this often. I made the batch and will take half to my mom since no one in my house will eat it except me. I can see making this often to share with my mom. Made for zwt 07

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping June 08, 2007
Couscous Corn and Black Bean Salad