15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are also called Indian fry bread tacos. They can be made vegetarian by replacing the ground beef with one 15oz. can chili beans or pinto beans.Simply drain most of the liquid add a little oleo, butter, or vegetable shortening and taco seasoning mix and heat until hot. Then proceed with step 7, when bread is done frying. This fry bread can also be made sweet, into what the US county fairs call Elephant Ears. Follow Steps 1.2.4.5.and 6. Then sprinkle with Confectioners sugar(icing sugar) or Confectioners sugar AND Hersheys chocolate syrup.(syrup for making chocolate milk) Talk about something deep fried and smothered in chocolate!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bshemyshua January 30, 2007

Our church youth group sells these all the time for fundraisers and they are always a hit! One hint is to poke a small hole (with your finger) in the center of the flattened dough before frying it. It helps it to fry completely and not get a big bubble in the middle. We also use plenty of onions on ours as well as garlic in the meat too. Thanks, Chef Dee for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judi H January 26, 2005

Awesome!!! I used some refried beans too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 17, 2012

We just had a local fair and my hubby said these ones were better! I really liked the taste of the bread fried. It was super yummy. I will never make my indian tacos any other way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze's Mom August 23, 2011

I grew up eating tacos the old fashion way and frying my taco shells from corn tortillas. So while I was excited to try this I had some reservations. We had them tonight and my husband and I were just floored by how much we LOVED these. It was a very quick meal too. This will be a regular substitute for traditional tacos in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa March 03, 2011

These were great. I added a couple of cloves of garlic and some onion to the ground beef while cooking. They turned out just like the picture. My wife and her side of the family have strong New Mexico roots and gave these 5 stars. Easy and fun to make. Thank you Chef Dee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaddyChef75 September 19, 2009

It would just as easy to make Fry Bread as using the dinner rolls

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RottNDachs August 26, 2009

Yum, these were amazingly good! I really think the chalupa-like dough makes them! I wasnt for sure about the directions, if your supposed to flatten all the dinner rolls together to make one big crust or to make individually. But I flattened 2 rolls together to make individual sizes. Fried them in the deep fryer on 350 for about 1-2 min. per side to get them golden brown. For the beef I sauteed chopped onion and garlic in with it to give it more flavor. When ready, I topped them with the beef, melted nacho cheese, lettuce, tomato, sour cream, salsa, taco sauce, and green onions. I would say for us we would only use 8 rolls to the 1 lb of beef. My bf said to give this 10 stars! Super fast and super easy! This is a keeper! UPDATE: My bf has been non stop talking about these and I made them again last night. I think this is one of his favorite foods now. Next time Im going to set out a few more rolls and try one of the other reviewers suggestion of frying them and topping with cinnamon/sugar to make elephant ears. Thats another addiction that my bf has!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* October 14, 2008

I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. I made these for a neighbor who is going through a tough time. He liked them and was very grateful. I think they turned out very well, but I found the dough to be way to heavy for this type of recipe. I think next time I will use my recipe for Indian Fry Bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandess August 07, 2008

My son requested "Chalupas like Taco Bell" for his birthday, and these seemed pretty close. I made my own taco filling, and served them with the taco spiced ground beef, refried beans, shredded lettuce, cheese, tomato, fiery salsa and freshly made guacamole. They were outstanding! My son proclaimed, " A million times better than Taco Bell." I should hope so!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 April 03, 2008
County Fair Indian Tacos