Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / County Fair Indian Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    County Fair Indian Tacos

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2007

      These are also called Indian fry bread tacos. They can be made vegetarian by replacing the ground beef with one 15oz. can chili beans or pinto beans.Simply drain most of the liquid add a little oleo, butter, or vegetable shortening and taco seasoning mix and heat until hot. Then proceed with step 7, when bread is done frying. This fry bread can also be made sweet, into what the US county fairs call Elephant Ears. Follow Steps 1.2.4.5.and 6. Then sprinkle with Confectioners sugar(icing sugar) or Confectioners sugar AND Hersheys chocolate syrup.(syrup for making chocolate milk) Talk about something deep fried and smothered in chocolate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Our church youth group sells these all the time for fundraisers and they are always a hit! One hint is to poke a small hole (with your finger) in the center of the flattened dough before frying it. It helps it to fry completely and not get a big bubble in the middle. We also use plenty of onions on ours as well as garlic in the meat too. Thanks, Chef Dee for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      Awesome!!! I used some refried beans too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      We just had a local fair and my hubby said these ones were better! I really liked the taste of the bread fried. It was super yummy. I will never make my indian tacos any other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      I grew up eating tacos the old fashion way and frying my taco shells from corn tortillas. So while I was excited to try this I had some reservations. We had them tonight and my husband and I were just floored by how much we LOVED these. It was a very quick meal too. This will be a regular substitute for traditional tacos in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      These were great. I added a couple of cloves of garlic and some onion to the ground beef while cooking. They turned out just like the picture. My wife and her side of the family have strong New Mexico roots and gave these 5 stars. Easy and fun to make. Thank you Chef Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      It would just as easy to make Fry Bread as using the dinner rolls

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Yum, these were amazingly good! I really think the chalupa-like dough makes them! I wasnt for sure about the directions, if your supposed to flatten all the dinner rolls together to make one big crust or to make individually. But I flattened 2 rolls together to make individual sizes. Fried them in the deep fryer on 350 for about 1-2 min. per side to get them golden brown. For the beef I sauteed chopped onion and garlic in with it to give it more flavor. When ready, I topped them with the beef, melted nacho cheese, lettuce, tomato, sour cream, salsa, taco sauce, and green onions. I would say for us we would only use 8 rolls to the 1 lb of beef. My bf said to give this 10 stars! Super fast and super easy! This is a keeper! UPDATE: My bf has been non stop talking about these and I made them again last night. I think this is one of his favorite foods now. Next time Im going to set out a few more rolls and try one of the other reviewers suggestion of frying them and topping with cinnamon/sugar to make elephant ears. Thats another addiction that my bf has!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. I made these for a neighbor who is going through a tough time. He liked them and was very grateful. I think they turned out very well, but I found the dough to be way to heavy for this type of recipe. I think next time I will use my recipe for Indian Fry Bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      My son requested "Chalupas like Taco Bell" for his birthday, and these seemed pretty close. I made my own taco filling, and served them with the taco spiced ground beef, refried beans, shredded lettuce, cheese, tomato, fiery salsa and freshly made guacamole. They were outstanding! My son proclaimed, " A million times better than Taco Bell." I should hope so!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Wow! This looks a lot easier than making the Fry bread from scratch Which is what I usually do, and it's so annoying I only do it a couple times of year. I will have to try this one! Thank you Chef Dee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      These were amazing! I followed the recipe as directed and they turned out wonderful! My whole family enjoyed these. This recipe is only every once in a while, because they are not very healthy. Unfortunatley! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I've never heard of these where I come from, but we love tacos, and I wanted to try something different. I'm glad I did!! The frybread was easy to make using the dinner rolls, and once they were ready it all came together fast. We like things spicy so I added about 2 tsps of reallllyy hot pepper sauce. My boyfriend raved about these for days, and since I made them, he keeps asking for them! Thanks for this fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      I make this every year for my son's birthday per his request he likes to have the bread thick so he can slice it and stuff the mixing inside it like a pocket bread sandwich

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      How could I have by passed those Taco stands on our little jaunts south! My taste testers enjoyed, stood in line for seconds! I didn't have the frozen dinner rolls but the dough made up in the bread maker worked well for me. Followed through on Judy H's suggestion and made plenty of onions for the onion lovers. Thank you Dee for sharing this Indian Taco recipe which made for a special treat for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for County Fair Indian Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.9
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    34%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 41.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 670.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes