415 Reviews

Perfect! We made a loaf, just as directed in our bread machine. It turned out wonderful, and everyone loved it. Thanks DDW!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy May 10, 2009

I love this recipe and I do not have a breadmaker! I simply dissolve the yeast in the warm water with the sugar then add the remaining ingredients and let my KitchenAid mixer do the rest! Because I enjoy kneading bread (I think it's good therapy) I do a little kneading before turning it into a bowl. It rises quickly and bakes up into a very tender loaf. Even when done by hand, it is very easy and only takes a few minutes to make...thanks for this great recipe, it is now the standard white bread for my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SavvySpoon April 30, 2009

Great dinner rolls . Made them for Easter and have made them three times since.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janetlbm April 16, 2009

After 241 good reviews, does this need another? Followed directions to the T, and the bread turned out perfectly and tastes great. Sounds like reviewers have found a winner of a recipe here. Thanks for sharing both bread and roll directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers April 14, 2009

Oh my gosh. I almost still can't believe it, but I've finally done it. This is truly the first time I've made a bread with my bread machine that ISN'T DENSE! I have had no luck with my bread machine since I got it. All I wanted was a nice fluffy bread but I just couldn't make one... until now! I can't even begin to describe how happy I am. I followed the recipe almost exactly, though the only changes were that I cut down the sugar to 2TB and added a 1/4 tsp more yeast to see if I'd get a nicer rise compared to my past attempts. The loaf rose pretty well in the bread machine, and when I shaped my little dinner rolls (ended up with 16 balls of dough), boy did they rise after that! And they baked SO beautifully! A little brush of melted butter afterwards and they were golden and shiny and beautiful. The moment I picked up a light, super soft roll, I already knew that this recipe was a winner. So soft, so fluffy and light, and the flavour - wow! Just perfect. A little bit of butter in this warm roll and I was in heaven. I gobbled up 3 of them tonight and had to stop myself from eating the rest! We only have one single roll left. Hopefully I'll be able to eat it tomorrow, unless someone gets to it before me! Thank you so much for this recipe. I have faith in my bread machine - finally - and I am no longer destined for dense, heavy breads. No more!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu April 12, 2009

This bread was soooo good. Very light. Probably the best bread we've made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cewrdh April 08, 2009

These went perfectly with our turkey dinner. Super easy and tasty! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe April 06, 2009

Absolutely delicious!! I am making my second batch in 2 days...it is my new staple roll recipe! Thank you so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musiclady12076 April 05, 2009

excellent! The texture of the buns were second to none, soft yet not overly chewy. Perfect. Thanks so much, this is my new dinner roll recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eye4colour April 03, 2009

How did I miss this recipe? One word...perfection! I made dinner rolls in muffin pans, two balls of dough in each hole and I got 15 beautiful rolls. I had to add an extra 2 tablespoons of flour to get the right consistancy for my bread machine, which I anticipated. The amount of sweetness was perfect for us. Great recipe DDW.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely March 28, 2009
Country White Bread or Dinner Rolls (Bread Machine)