415 Reviews

DDW - these ARE the best rolls! I made a triple batch for Thanksgiving. I used my bread machine (3 batches), shaped them, then froze them individually. When frozen, placed in a Ziploc bag, and removed as many as needed. I let them thaw and rise in a greased pan (took about 4 hours), just in time to pop in the oven while the turkey rested. They were the star of the show. I've now made a 2nd batch for Christmas - added just a bit more salt, but followed your directions otherwise. SO glad I found this recipe!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn November 30, 2010

05/10/09: Ha! I wrote my first review back in 2007. This recipe has been my go-to recipe since then. It never fails me. TIPS: I always beat the egg before I put it into the bread machine. I also use 1/2 white Better For Bread or All-Purpose flour & 1/2 whole wheat. I like to make the rolls. They turn out better for me when I shape them into 20 rolls. I freeze the shaped dough & keep in freezer baggies until I need them. Let thaw & rise while preheating oven. For me, the rolls take about 25 minutes to bake. Excellent! ~ Keli . . . . . . 02/08/07: This bread was outstanding on my subsequent tries on the full cycle. My first attempt on ExpressBake rated about 2 stars. That wasn't a total loss, tho, cuz the birds & animals loved it. ~ Keli

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keli in Hawaii May 10, 2009

Really love this bread! Its got a crispy top and its very very soft in the middle. It might be hard for some to get good slices for sandwiches because of how soft it is, but the first two slice of my loaf were perfect for a sandwich. And it tasts really good. I made this 3 times. The first time was a mistake cause i used all purpose flour. The second time it came out better. The third time was the best! I made the dough in my bread machine then baked in my loaf pan for 24 min at 375. You get a bigger loaf that way and taste better to me.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amaris mom August 12, 2010

These were EXACTLY what I was looking for. Soft, flavorful, with a beautiful rise. I don't have a bread machine, so I used my KA. I proofed my yeast in the amount of water suggested (I always warm my water to 115 degrees). Mixed the egg, oil, sugar, and salt in my mixing bowl and then added the proofed yeast and gave it a light wisk. I didn't have bread flour, so used AP instead. I did need a little extra flour, but not much. And that worked great! Did the old fashioned, grease a bowl and put the dough in it to rise then punch it down method. Then I made my rolls and placed them in a greased 9x13 for a second rise. I got 15 wonderful rolls, just like the recipe said I would. I had to stop my youngest from eating them (he's my bread king). All I can say is "THANK YOU!!!" I can't wait to make a loaf of bread out of this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmarie1966 May 14, 2009

Absolutely perfect! Made dough in machine the night before and put in fridge. Let the dough get to room temperature, made into shapes, rise for 1 hour. Didn't even brush with butter. Guests didn't even think they needed butter or jam--ate them plain. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdaugherty November 26, 2010

I made a loaf of this and it was very tasty. It was a little too sweet for my tastes, but you said that it had a sweetness to it. I look forward to making the dinner rolls.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
molly pruitt January 05, 2004

The best I've ever made! Been making bread with my machine for 12 years and this is the best by leaps and bounds! Thank you so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliMali5417 December 10, 2013

Wow, I really don't understand what all the fuss is about. These rolls were good, but certainly not GREAT. I made it twice: first exactly as the recipe stated, and a second time with less sugar. I made rolls both times, and they came out good. Soft on the inside, but they just weren't fantastic. I make A LOT of bread, pasta, cakes, etc from scratch, and this recipe is definitely not the best I've ever made.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrongMama January 24, 2012

This is as others have said the best of white breads.. we loved it. A tip on not having it reach the top of bread machine cover. When any bread machine bread recipe has risen as high as you want, take a toothpick and stick loaf two or three places.. works for me every time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NITA FORMALLY 294904 SOUTHERN GIRL April 24, 2008

Made without machine, omitted egg and baked them at 375 for 12 minutes, totally epic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy May 01, 2012
Country White Bread or Dinner Rolls (Bread Machine)