Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Country White Bread or Dinner Rolls (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country White Bread or Dinner Rolls (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    408 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 408

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2010

      DDW - these ARE the best rolls! I made a triple batch for Thanksgiving. I used my bread machine (3 batches), shaped them, then froze them individually. When frozen, placed in a Ziploc bag, and removed as many as needed. I let them thaw and rise in a greased pan (took about 4 hours), just in time to pop in the oven while the turkey rested. They were the star of the show. I've now made a 2nd batch for Christmas - added just a bit more salt, but followed your directions otherwise. SO glad I found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      05/10/09: Ha! I wrote my first review back in 2007. This recipe has been my go-to recipe since then. It never fails me. TIPS: I always beat the egg before I put it into the bread machine. I also use 1/2 white Better For Bread or All-Purpose flour & 1/2 whole wheat. I like to make the rolls. They turn out better for me when I shape them into 20 rolls. I freeze the shaped dough & keep in freezer baggies until I need them. Let thaw & rise while preheating oven. For me, the rolls take about 25 minutes to bake. Excellent! ~ Keli . . . . . . 02/08/07: This bread was outstanding on my subsequent tries on the full cycle. My first attempt on ExpressBake rated about 2 stars. That wasn't a total loss, tho, cuz the birds & animals loved it. ~ Keli

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Really love this bread! Its got a crispy top and its very very soft in the middle. It might be hard for some to get good slices for sandwiches because of how soft it is, but the first two slice of my loaf were perfect for a sandwich. And it tasts really good. I made this 3 times. The first time was a mistake cause i used all purpose flour. The second time it came out better. The third time was the best! I made the dough in my bread machine then baked in my loaf pan for 24 min at 375. You get a bigger loaf that way and taste better to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Absolutely perfect! Made dough in machine the night before and put in fridge. Let the dough get to room temperature, made into shapes, rise for 1 hour. Didn't even brush with butter. Guests didn't even think they needed butter or jam--ate them plain. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      These were EXACTLY what I was looking for. Soft, flavorful, with a beautiful rise. I don't have a bread machine, so I used my KA. I proofed my yeast in the amount of water suggested (I always warm my water to 115 degrees). Mixed the egg, oil, sugar, and salt in my mixing bowl and then added the proofed yeast and gave it a light wisk. I didn't have bread flour, so used AP instead. I did need a little extra flour, but not much. And that worked great! Did the old fashioned, grease a bowl and put the dough in it to rise then punch it down method. Then I made my rolls and placed them in a greased 9x13 for a second rise. I got 15 wonderful rolls, just like the recipe said I would. I had to stop my youngest from eating them (he's my bread king). All I can say is "THANK YOU!!!" I can't wait to make a loaf of bread out of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Wow, I really don't understand what all the fuss is about. These rolls were good, but certainly not GREAT. I made it twice: first exactly as the recipe stated, and a second time with less sugar. I made rolls both times, and they came out good. Soft on the inside, but they just weren't fantastic. I make A LOT of bread, pasta, cakes, etc from scratch, and this recipe is definitely not the best I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      I made a loaf of this and it was very tasty. It was a little too sweet for my tastes, but you said that it had a sweetness to it. I look forward to making the dinner rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      The best I've ever made! Been making bread with my machine for 12 years and this is the best by leaps and bounds! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      Made without machine, omitted egg and baked them at 375 for 12 minutes, totally epic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      This is the best bread!!!! I was given a bread machine for my birthday but haven't used it much cause I haven't been crazy about the results of the recipes in the book that came with it. But this is the BEST I have found. It is so light and the loaf has a perfect shape and crust; I can't wait to make it up as dinner rolls.It reminds me alot of the main recipe my sister'in'law used for all her bread. This has the same texture and flavor as her recipe.
      The only thing I did that wasn't in the recipe was to weigh my flour after I had carefully measured it . It was a little over the 5 oz.per cup so I took out the difference and the dough was perfect

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      I can't recommend this as is, for bread recipe at all. It is so sweet, it ruined the sandwich and garlic bread I made w/ it. The loaf I made sat in the fridge uneaten for a week as it was too sweet to use normally. Then I was out of groceries and I thought - aha! French toast. It made excellent french toast.

      This would make great hot rolls too, but if you want to make a loaf of bread for the usual uses, cut back on the sugar BIG TIME. I did not use or need a bread machine to make this recipe, it was very easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Quick and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      We've already made 3 batches of this bread... Since yesterday! I've just been using AP flour (it's all I've got right now), and the bread has come out great every time. The first two batches were made in the ABM on dough cycle, then I let them rest for about an hour, and threw them into a loaf pan. Both loaves were perfect, and sliced really easily, and thin enough for sandwiches. The third batch was also made in the ABM, but then I threw the dough into muffin tins, let rise, and baked. Once again, perfection! Thank you DDW!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I love to try new recipes and I absolutely HAD to try this one! My family gobbled these up and wanted me to make another batch. These are our 'go-to' dinner rolls. No more brown and serve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      This was the best bread recipe. It used ingredients that were already on hand. It was no fail!! My kids have each had 2 rolls and are asking for more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      I never loved bread crust 'til I made this bread in my machine. I love the crispy, flavorful crust as much as the light, fluffy inside. This is my go to recipe for bread now. I halve the recipe--it rises A LOT and always fills over 75% of my regular sized bread machine pan. I also never check the dough (after 5 minutes of mixing) since the first time, and It always turns out perfectly. I probably wouldn't use it for sandwiches--the insides may be a bit too soft. We just cut it and add butter to it with dinner, or add jams, apple butter or honey and make a light meal of it. Leftovers do get stale a bit quick, but they make GREAT breadcrumbs that are still yummy after freezing awhile. I can't attest to what the bread is like after completing the cooling cycle in the bread machine because we always rip that sucker out with potholders as soon as the fan comes on and scarf it down. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Fabulous! My new go to recipe. Only thing I do different is a slightly higher temp & I put on cookie sheet as they get so big and that way they get baked in the middle. After cooled I put half in a bag in freezer and we eat the rest - just 2 of us. Lana

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I also put my breadmaker on the dough setting, kneaded it just a little, let it rise 40 min., and baked on 350 for 20 min. Also used olive oil. Delicious! Fairly sweet- probably more sugar than we need, but we loved it! Makes a huge loaf, though, so pulling out some of the dough for rolls first or making 2 small loaves would probably work well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This is as others have said the best of white breads.. we loved it. A tip on not having it reach the top of bread machine cover. When any bread machine bread recipe has risen as high as you want, take a toothpick and stick loaf two or three places.. works for me every time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2014

      I eat only these non stop

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country White Bread or Dinner Rolls (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.1
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    13%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 238.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites